Rhubarb Stir Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Recipes like this are the reason I love this site! I would have passed this recipe by if it hadn't been for the high rating...and it is well deserved! This cake is super moist and very tasty...and it only has 1/4 cup of butter in it. The only changes I made were that I substituted plain yogurt for the sour cream and I had to bake it for an extra 10 minutes. Personally, I liked the nutmeg in the topping, but cinnamon would be nice too. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Not bad, but not great either. Quite bland and, although moist, was tough after a day or two, no doubt thanks to the low fat content. The mixture was so dry that I rechecked the receipe a couple of times to see if I had missed something. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
OH MY GOODNESS! Very good, and I HATE rhubarb! My 'make me a pie' husband even liked it. The only thing I changed was to sub 1/2 the brown sugar for Splenda Brown sugar blend and added a tsp of cinnamon. Have already made 3 times, once for work and nobody believed it was rhubarb. Four asked for the recipe. Super recipe - in my recipe box -.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I thought this was okay, but not the best I've had. The cake was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Wow. This was so much better than I expected. I dont really like rhubarb and neither does my husband but I have it in the garden so thought I would give it a try. Its moist and just has a really good taste and I am not sure why but it does. So I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Good cake. Unfortunately the rhubarb that was given to me was extremely tart. I'll make it again, but will find my rhubarb elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Pretty good. I followed the recipe closely, but used cinnamon and only a little sugar on top. I also had to bake it about 10 minutes longer. It was very moist, better texture and flavor the next day. Good rhubarb flavor and not too sweet. Good way to use up lots of rhubarb! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was an excellant & easy cake to make. Better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
this cake was lovely and moist,we ate it cold.next time I'll try it warm with cream or ice cream. we have loads of rhubarb in the garden so I will make again for family and friends. also I'll try it with other types fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
My neighbour dropped off a lot of rhubarb yesterday and I decided to make this cake. When my husband got home from work he was upset that I was using the oven on such a hot day. Until he tasted the cake. He had some for dessert, for a bedtime snack and for breakfast. Our kids haven't even had a chance to taste it yet and it is almost all gone. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States