Rhubarb Spice Cake with Lemon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Wonderful recipe exactly as written. . Not a sweet cake and that was appreciated by some people. The lemon sauce makes it sweeter. The sauce is delicious, and makes enough to use for other things. I added more rhubarb than the recipe called for to use up the last few stalks I had, and that didn't cause any problems. Really delicious cake. I'm adding this to my favourite rhubarb recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very good cake, but it definitely needs the lemon sauce to balance the flavors and make it sweet enough. The cake itself isn't very sweet and the rhubarb is of course quite tart, but the sauce is perfect for it! I agree with other reviewers that you can probably halve the sauce, but I'll just the leftovers for another cake or muffins or a lemony bread pudding or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
What a wonderful recipe! Such a perfect medley of flavors. The cake came out very moist, even with the surprisingly little butter. I did reduce the cloves to 1/4 tsp., so it wouldn't be too overpowering, since it is such a strong spice. The ONLY thing wrong with this recipe, in my opinion, is that there is way too much sauce. You could easily get by with making only half a batch of the sauce. I ended up throwing a good portion away. My husband and I ate our first pieces with the sauce still warm and it was amazing. I then poured half of the sauce over the rest of the cake and my hubby took it into work the next day to share with his co-workers and it got rave reviews! I also choose to go "natural" and not add the food coloring to the sauce. The zest does give it a nice pale yellow color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Recently served this at book club and it was a hit with all. The cake is good by itself but the lemon sauce makes it and even nicer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I tried this cake for Fathers day, Everyone loved it. With or without the lemon sauce it is tasty. Hint: try the lemon sauce on other desserts, It is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I made this for the dessert at our traditional easter dinner. Fantastic! I did a layered 8" cake with lemon cream cheese frosting - it was a huge hit. Will do again, maybe with the original lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This cake was just okay...a tad on the sweet side, I'd probably reduce the sugar if I were to make it again. The lemon sauce was great though, would be nice on a variety of different fruit or on vanilla ice cream! The cake/sauce combo was a bit too rich for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I made this without the lemon sauce to bring to an afternoon tea. Everyone loved it! Even my student who said he had been "scared of rhubarb" before this had two pieces. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Excellent moist flavorful cake. We ate it all before I ever got around to making the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States