Rhubarb Slush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
If you want to keep more rhubarb flavour, save the cooking water from step 1 to use as the ingredient water in step 2. Even with half the sugar it's plenty sweet, next time I will use Soda Water instead of lemon-lime pop. A great recipe- and fun to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
Instead on gin I used Maui Tropical Schnapps & that added a nice extra flavor to it. Very good way to use up your Rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
My husband swears this is the BEST slush ever! I go about making it a little differently. I put my chopped rhubarb in the saucepan and usually I toss in 1/2-1 c raspberries for color. Once tender, rather than draining and blending I just use my immersion blender. Then add the remaining ingredients (but only HALF the SUGAR) and I always use Brandy instead of Gin. Its so quick and easy - and delicious. UPDATE: I made this tonight with Blackberry Brandy and Grape juice concentrate instead of Orange (again 1/2 the sugar). Delicious! I think this might be my favorite version now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Barneveld, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Sooo delicious and refreshing! I'm always going to have a batch of the slush on hand for company or a refreshing treat for myself. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
My company found this drink (I made it virgin) very refreshing. I plan on keeping a batch in the freezer for unexpected guests. Great way to use your rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
It's nice to find a beverage recipe to use all of my rhubarb in. This one didn't quite have enough rhubarb flavor in it for me, so I added another 1 c of rhubarb. i also reduced the sugar to 2/3 c instead of 1 c. That helped. Next time, I don't think I'll put quite as much orange juice. That seemed to overpower it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
A good way to use a lot of Rhubarb. I used rum instead of gin and it tasted great. I also recommend using a flavored sparkling H2O instead of pop as this recipe already has a lot of sugar. Four Stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Wasn't really that impressed with this recipe...lot of work and only an okay taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I don't quite know where to begin on this one. It is THE BEST drink ever! I served it to my neighbors over Memorial Day Weekend, and they are all frantically running out to the farmer's market to buy more rhubarb. The only thing I changed was I used strawberry vodka instead of gin and served Fresca over the top. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelican Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
this was Pheee-nominal pree-scrumptuous a-rugala. the best stuff i have ever had you will get your mind blown by the sheer intensity of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States