Rhubarb Slush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
If you want to keep more rhubarb flavour, save the cooking water from step 1 to use as the ingredient water in step 2. Even with half the sugar it's plenty sweet, next time I will use Soda Water instead of lemon-lime pop. A great recipe- and fun to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
It's nice to find a beverage recipe to use all of my rhubarb in. This one didn't quite have enough rhubarb flavor in it for me, so I added another 1 c of rhubarb. i also reduced the sugar to 2/3 c instead of 1 c. That helped. Next time, I don't think I'll put quite as much orange juice. That seemed to overpower it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This is a great way to make sure you pick all the rhubarb. I used vodka instead of gin.I thought it was a bit too sweet. I added a bit of lemon juice at the end in a glass, with the lemon lime soda. I will use less sugar next time. But easy to keep in the freezer. I'm thinking of making the rhubarb patch bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lunenburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
This was a good slush, but I was hoping for more of a rhubarb taste. I'll make this again, but maybe double the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I made this recipe last Christmas (without the gin) using frozen rhubarb and everyone loved it! It was great to have in the freezer and just add the soda when anyone dropped by. I am making it again this holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
My company found this drink (I made it virgin) very refreshing. I plan on keeping a batch in the freezer for unexpected guests. Great way to use your rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Wasn't really that impressed with this recipe...lot of work and only an okay taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Sooo delicious and refreshing! I'm always going to have a batch of the slush on hand for company or a refreshing treat for myself. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
Instead on gin I used Maui Tropical Schnapps & that added a nice extra flavor to it. Very good way to use up your Rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States