Rhubarb Slush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Very good although it doesn't taste much like rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by seasha
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Used the rhubarb water, half the sugar, and club soda. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seasha
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This was too sweet for my liking and the orange concentrate over powered the taste. A few changes to make: Use only 1 can pink lemonade, no orange. Add half the sugar. Serve with Club Soda. **Also, use the left over water from the rhubarb pot as the water in recipe to add more rhubarb flavour**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I have made this recipe so many times as well as shared it others (after they tried it) more times than I can count! I make it w/o the alcohol so the kids can have some too! I have made it with both frozen rhubarb but saving the juice once it is thawed for part of the water, and also made it fresh. It keeps FOREVER, well ok at least several months, until the next batch of rhubarb is ready. I use both lemon/lime soda or lemonade, whichever the person so chooses. IT IS A MUST at cookouts or just on a nice summer day/evening!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I did a few things different. I used frozen thawed rhubarb and measured out 6 cups of rhubarb with rhubarb juice. It is puréeable at this stage but you still gotta cook it or you'll get sick. Ask me how I know! This increases the rhubarb flavor over the original recipe I'm sure. I brought the rhubarb up to a boil with the 2 cups sugar and three cups water. I recommend using the full amount of sugar and using carbonated water later rather than short the sugar and use soda as the mixer because more sugar makes it easier to scoop out and slush up from a frozen state. Besides, wouldn't you rather have your extra sweetener be sugar rather than HFC? I agree with most of the other reviewers that it is too sweet if you use all the sugar and then top it off with Sprite. I have never in my life seen a 6 oz can of frozen juice, so I used 12 oz. That was probably wrong. Next time I will use half of it and see how that goes. I would like the rhubarb flavor to be dominant. Then I doubled the alcohol. 1 cup of gin is not very much for as big as this recipe is and you'll add something fizzy later too. Alcohol also keeps it scoopable in the freezer, but it's easy enough to add it during serving to keep everybody happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Best cold drink ever on a hot day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I found a new use for my rhubarb. This is a good drink and so handy to have in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Made this for friends and I've made it several times until I ran out of Rhubarb. Used Gin and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Carson
Home Town: Huntington, Oregon, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Just finished making this and used 9 cups rhubarb 1 1/2 cups sugar, small can frozen pink lemonade and small frozen can OJ. Could not wait to try it and added a scoop into an ice filled glass topped with tonic. This is great!!!! My husband is a big tonic fan but likes a little something extra in it for a different flavour. This fills the requirement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omemee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
A good refreshing slushy, although I altered it a bit. First I cut the recipe in half and I think next time I would cut the lemonade and orange juice in half again, it kind of overpowered the rhubarb. After I cooked the rhubarb I let it cool (while I was making dinner), then I mixed it and the juice concentrates, a bit of water and a bunch of ice in my blender. It was very refreshing, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States