Rhubarb Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Great recipe! My garden produced an overabundance of rhubarb this year. Usually, I make strawberry rhubarb pie and strawberry rhubarb jam, but I had an angel food cake on hand and decided on the rhubarb sauce. After reading the reviews, I decided to use a cup of bing cherries I also had on hand and a dash of red food coloring; I also added a bit of vanilla extract. My mother used to make Rhubarb Sauce every summer, and it brought back memories. I'm going to freeze the extra sauce for use throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dixonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Commodore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Because of the previous reviewers' suggestion, I also put a squirt of vanilla in at the end. In addition, I used 1/3 cup brown sugar instead of the white, and added a dash of cinnamon. I also have made this substituting a cup of frozen cranberries for a cup of the rhubarb. Yummmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Yummy! Can be made with less butter and sugar for the health-concious:) Also don't worry too much about cutting the rhubarb - it will just boil down:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
AWESOME!!!!! I haven't had rhubarb sauce since I was a kid and boy does this taste great. My son is in love with this sauce. The only change I made was I added a little more sugar and when it was done cooking, I added a little vanilla. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I used 3 cups rhubarb and 1 cup frozen strawberries and it was delicious. Just like my gramdma used to make. I like it over ice cream or spread over toast the best! I also foungd it easiest to just toss the rhubarb and strawberries along with the melted buter and sugar into the blender for a spin to get the smooth texture. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This is really easy to make and I added strawberries too--I meant to serve it with yogurt or over ice cream but ended up spreading a lot on toast and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I added vanilla at the end of cooking as suggested by other reviews... vanilla makes any dessert sauce better! A delicious (and quick!) spring dessert served over angel food cake with a whipped cream garnish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I made this but would have preferred it be sweeter. I will add strawberries next time. Also, I took the advice given about not cutting fine because it will cook down. I cut to 2-inch pieces. Yes, it does cook down, but then it is more stringy, so I will chop it more fine next time. Just thought I'd share this for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This recipe is very tasty and so easy! I also used 3 cups rhubarb and one cup frozen strawberries. Then reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup. I used an immersion blender to make the mixture nice and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I love dis recipe but not my favourite!! I tried making it. My mum was da 1st 1 2 try it. She loved it so she asked me 2 bake it again!! Thanx Michele!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States