Rhubarb Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I love dis recipe but not my favourite!! I tried making it. My mum was da 1st 1 2 try it. She loved it so she asked me 2 bake it again!! Thanx Michele!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJKING777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
AWESOME!!!!! I haven't had rhubarb sauce since I was a kid and boy does this taste great. My son is in love with this sauce. The only change I made was I added a little more sugar and when it was done cooking, I added a little vanilla. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This is really easy to make and I added strawberries too--I meant to serve it with yogurt or over ice cream but ended up spreading a lot on toast and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I used 3 cups rhubarb and 1 cup frozen strawberries and it was delicious. Just like my gramdma used to make. I like it over ice cream or spread over toast the best! I also foungd it easiest to just toss the rhubarb and strawberries along with the melted buter and sugar into the blender for a spin to get the smooth texture. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Very tastey! I also added vanilla to the sauce and served it with a cream cheese pound cake. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Because of the previous reviewers' suggestion, I also put a squirt of vanilla in at the end. In addition, I used 1/3 cup brown sugar instead of the white, and added a dash of cinnamon. I also have made this substituting a cup of frozen cranberries for a cup of the rhubarb. Yummmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Great recipe! My garden produced an overabundance of rhubarb this year. Usually, I make strawberry rhubarb pie and strawberry rhubarb jam, but I had an angel food cake on hand and decided on the rhubarb sauce. After reading the reviews, I decided to use a cup of bing cherries I also had on hand and a dash of red food coloring; I also added a bit of vanilla extract. My mother used to make Rhubarb Sauce every summer, and it brought back memories. I'm going to freeze the extra sauce for use throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dixonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Commodore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Simple, terrific tasting and a seasonal delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESTIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I goofed it up and it still worked! I'm generally pretty good at reading directions, but I threw everything in the pot and then read them! It's ok, the rhubarb softened up and disintegrated as it was supposed to. I love almond, so I threw a bit of almond extract in there. Also, it makes it more appetizing if you throw a couple of drops of red food coloring in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States