Rhubarb Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I loved this basic recipe. I added a 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/8 of a cup of orange jucie and simmered until thick. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I added vanilla at the end of cooking as suggested by other reviews... vanilla makes any dessert sauce better! A delicious (and quick!) spring dessert served over angel food cake with a whipped cream garnish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Yummy! Can be made with less butter and sugar for the health-concious:) Also don't worry too much about cutting the rhubarb - it will just boil down:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
When I was young my aunt made delicious rhubarb jam. I haven't had any for about 30 years so I bought some frozen rhubarb yesterday and found this recipe to try. I love it! Next I'm going to try it with fresh rhubarb, which I'm sure will be even better. Thank you for such a simple, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This recipe is very tasty and so easy! I also used 3 cups rhubarb and one cup frozen strawberries. Then reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup. I used an immersion blender to make the mixture nice and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I goofed it up and it still worked! I'm generally pretty good at reading directions, but I threw everything in the pot and then read them! It's ok, the rhubarb softened up and disintegrated as it was supposed to. I love almond, so I threw a bit of almond extract in there. Also, it makes it more appetizing if you throw a couple of drops of red food coloring in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Simple, terrific tasting and a seasonal delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESTIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Great recipe! My garden produced an overabundance of rhubarb this year. Usually, I make strawberry rhubarb pie and strawberry rhubarb jam, but I had an angel food cake on hand and decided on the rhubarb sauce. After reading the reviews, I decided to use a cup of bing cherries I also had on hand and a dash of red food coloring; I also added a bit of vanilla extract. My mother used to make Rhubarb Sauce every summer, and it brought back memories. I'm going to freeze the extra sauce for use throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Batten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dixonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Commodore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Because of the previous reviewers' suggestion, I also put a squirt of vanilla in at the end. In addition, I used 1/3 cup brown sugar instead of the white, and added a dash of cinnamon. I also have made this substituting a cup of frozen cranberries for a cup of the rhubarb. Yummmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Very tastey! I also added vanilla to the sauce and served it with a cream cheese pound cake. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States