Rhubarb Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
The amount of sugar is about right, but I note that you don't need the butter, just cover the bottom of the pan with water, bring to a boil then cover and lower to a simmer for about 15-20 minutes. No need to stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Awesome recipe!! I grew up with rhubarb, but had never had sauce until tonight. WOW!! I could eat the entire batch! I added a tiny bit of vanilla as other reviewers suggested. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Holy Sour, Batman! and no butter- rhubarb sauce doesn't have butter. Added food coloring as my mother always did and doctored it with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Substituted 1/2 of the rhubarb with frozen strawberries (because I was short on rhubarb). Delicious recipe. So good, I was cleaning out the skillet with a piece of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Unlike other reviewers I didn't change a thing and it was PERFECT. Tart and tangy. And ideal with plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I like the addition of butter in this recipe. Four cups of rhubarb is about 6 good-sized stalks. Slice fresh rhubarb quickly and easily with a Mandoline Slicer. Can also be cooked in a solar oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I had never EVER cooked rhubarb before...but it was always in the house when I was growing up. I'm not a huge fan, so I grated up a few gala apples (peel on) and what a lovely sweet/tart sauce! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I made this but would have preferred it be sweeter. I will add strawberries next time. Also, I took the advice given about not cutting fine because it will cook down. I cut to 2-inch pieces. Yes, it does cook down, but then it is more stringy, so I will chop it more fine next time. Just thought I'd share this for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States