Rhubarb Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This was very good but had to reduce sugar by 1/2 and added salt and vanilla. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Some slight modifications, but this turned out great! I used about 2 cups of rhubarb and about 1/4 cup of artificial sweetener (Splenda). I cooked it for 3 minutes, then stirred, cooking for a total of 12 minutes. I sprinkled some salt on top, and added about 1 tsp of vanilla. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was a very quick and easy recipe that tasted really good. I did cut back on the sugar, and added some butter. It was really good over pork chops. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tigerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Easy, but too sweet. I would suggest cutting back on the sugar and then adding more if you think you need it. I used about 1 1/4 cups of "brown" sugar. I added a pat of butter and a sprinkle of cinnamon. Mine was much shorter than twelve minutes to be the consistency I wanted, but I did add a little water, so maybe that quickened the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Fantastic! I used only 1 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This was really good with some changes. I used 2 cups of rhubarb to only one cup of sugar. I really felt that this was the perfect ratio of sugar to rhubarb (sweet to tart). This came out with a perfect jelly-like consistency and will be absolutely delicious drizzled over oatmeal, ice cream or cake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
YUMMY!! like others, I seriously decreased the sugar to about 1 cup rhubarb to 1/4 c sugar. One batch, I used Strawberry Jello and a little water instead of sugar - nice...brings back childhood memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This seemed like too much sugar, so I decreased it to 1 1/2 cups - and the sauce still came out more like soup than sauce. Even after cooling in the fridge, it was still pretty soupy. I did use sucanot for part of the sugar - maybe that made a difference? Next time I'll try just 1/4 cup sucanot, and perhaps 1 cup sugar. The sucanot adds a nice light molassas flavor to the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Excellent! Brought back childhood memories of dixie cups full of sugar and fresh picked rhubarb stalks! I used 2 cups frozen rhubarb that was cut in pieces; after thawing I diced it, added 1/2 cup sugar and microwaved it at 2 minute intervals stirring each time. We'll use it over my sister's cheesecake this afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States