Rhubarb Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was wonderful! I've made it a couple of times now. We've used it for to top chips, put on grilled chicken and used it in halibut tacos. I once made it with lemon juice because I didn't have enough lime and it turned out just as wonderful. I also add cilantro. I would make it a day ahead and let it sit in the fridge so all the flavors can meld together. You should definitely try this!! I had friends come over that immediately asked for the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Awesome! This is a great way to use rhubarb without a lot of sugar. The lime and the apples make this delicious. I didn't have green onions so I used red onion and chives. I added a little Kosher salt. I'm guessing that if you thaw frozen rhubarb there would be no need to blanch it. I ate it with chips, but you could do a lot with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made this for my friends to go with grilled chicken and we all loved it! I would definately recommend this to someone who wants to use rhubarb in their cooking more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was very good. My 3 yr old grandson loved it. I didn't use limes, I used 4 Tablespoons of lime juice and instead of jalapeno's I used salsa peppers and I also added a half can of rinsed and drained black beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry LaMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
My dear friend, Shawna, has a huge garden and gave me the most lovely rhubarb. It was so fresh and it's flavor quite strong so I used the 2 cups of rhubarb then doubled everything else. Took another's suggestion and added fresh strawberries too. Fabulous! The next night I added some avocado to make it more of a guacamole! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This recipe was fantastic. I caught my 15 year old daughter "sampling" it from the fridge while I grilling the chicken to put it on. I stuck to the recipe except for one addition. I added a couple sprigs of chopped cilantro, and I think that added the perfect finishing touch. One mistake I made was in blanching the rhubarb too long. I lost more flavor than I intended. I also would add a second jalapeno next time. I added one per the recipe and couldn't get a lot from it... and that's something for me to say since I'm a wuss when things are too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lifting Heavy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shepherd, Montana, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Love this! Great for summer picnics and get-togethers. Served with jalapeno lime tortilla chips which gave an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I really liked this recipe and basically ate it all myself, because nobody else at the picnic would eat it. Oh well, more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGGAN1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I have a farm share and used fresh from the farm everything! It was a huge hit with all - even the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
The salsa is delicious and interesting. I always was looking for the no dessert rhubarb recipes and that is. I used the salsa on potatoes, but we found it would be better with bread or tortilla chips. I didn`t have honey and used brown sugar instead that worked well. And I had big limes, so 1 lime was enough too. Thanks for a great rhubarb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States