Rhubarb Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I was unsure how this recipe would turn out, but it was great in spite of a significant error that I made (adding the sugar to the chopped rhubarb too soon). I didn't realize that the sugar would pull SO much liquid out of the rhubarb SO quickly! So, don't do what I did -- make sure that you add the sugar to the rhubarb just seconds before you place it on the dough! These rhubarb roles were a great hit and tasted just as good the next day. I will definitely make these again -- and these rhubarb roles motivated me even more strongly to grow my own rhubarb next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda May
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I just got a whole bunch of fresh rhubarb and was looking for fun new recipes to try. I saw this one and decided to try it out. It was delicious, easy to make and everybody really really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I did not find the dough sticky once I put flour underneath it and on my rolling pin. It was messy rolling it, juice was running out of the sides and it did seem like way too much liquid before going in the oven but it did soak it all up. I found it had a bit of a soggy bottom s if you are expecting something similar to a cinnamon roll, it's pretty different. It was still very good and a nice change from rhubarb muffins. Would be delicious with vanilla ice cream! I may try it with a tad bit less syrup next time just for personal preferance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Oh wow! More dishes than I like to wash for one recipe, but these were quite a treat. Followed a helpful review to add more 2 cups rhubarb with the water for the syrup and simmered until tender before adding the 1 cup sugar. The rolls were still very sweet but had just a touch of tart. I also used 2 drops red food coloring to give the sauce a slight pink hue. Rolled the dough out on a floured pastry cloth- no problem with stickiness. Biscuit-type rolls were tender and moist but not soggy. I'm freezing my rhubarb in 5 cup increments for future Rhubarb Rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Anne
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Very tasty, but messy, messy, messy to make! Be sure not to toss the rhubarb in the sugar until right before you roll the rolls up or you will end up with syrup running all over your counter. I only got 9 rolls out of the dough, and used a 9x9 instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
kind of messy to make but taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Taste was okay but such a horrible mess to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
My favorite Rhubarb recipe so far!!! Yum, Yum!!! I took previous writer’s advice to add red food coloring to syrup and froze the dough for 20 mins. prior to rolling out to avoid stickiness. I also used my food precessor to finely chop the Rhubarb. Worked great! Caution!!! A bit messy!!! Don’t assemble when you have mail on your counter! May use less sugar and add pureed Rhubarb to the syrup next time for extra flavor. But it doesn’t need it. Great the way this recipe written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This recipe mimics my in-laws' cherished family rhubarb rolls recipe and tasted just as good! The only difference I made was I used brown sugar in the filling (instead of white) and I added a bit more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Clover Leaf Rolls

See the recipe and get the story behind it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States