Rhubarb Raspberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Yum! I didn't have any issue with this pie being runny--in fact, I added about 3/4 cup of water. I used pearl tapioca, and it seems that when you sub for quick cooking, you double the tapioca, and you need more liquid. So possibly this recipe really means pearl tapioca? Bc I doubled the tapioca and ended up with enough for 2 pies, so I made 2 pies. And it wasn't runny at all, even with the extra water I added. I didn't have enough rhubarb (I only had 3 cups) so I used more raspberries, and this turned out really delicious. I used the Pastry for Double-Pie Crust recipe on here for the crust. I'm glad I tried this; I've only ever had Strawberry Rhubarb Pie; this was just as good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I have made this twice using minute tapioca. The first time I used fresh rhubarb and raspberries, the second time I used frozen. If you use frozen, there is a possibility of too much water. I pour my lemon juice into my tapioca to make sure it is wet, then mix it all in with the other ingredients and let it all soak together for an hour before putting it into the shell for baking. It comes out absolutely incredible! BEST and EASIEST recipe ever! I used more berries and less rhubarb the second time, because I wanted to save some rhubarb to make another pie, and it held together better. I also added just a teeny bit extra tapioca. This is just too easy. Especially if you use a store bought pie shell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Great pie and easy too! Never used raspberries, but will more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I'm very sorry and surprised at the outcome of this pie. I followed the recipe and was disappointed. The pie came out far to watery. I used paper to try and soak up the juices after cooking it and I ran out of paper towel! I'm sadly not going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Excellent...only changes were I also used blackberries and cut down on the amount of rhubarb. Used generic ready made pie crust and brushed with egg and sprinkled with sugar. It was a huge hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Cascade, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I have made rhubarb strawberry pies for years when I found this recipe I wasn't sure how this would taste together. Well I want to say I just baked my second pie this week. We love the flavor combo so much. This is one I will make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, New York, USA
Living In: Leicester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
My husband raved about it from the first bite to the last. I didn't have quite enough rhubarb, but had some frozen blackberries handy, so I had enough berries/rhubarb to make 5 cups. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This recipe is very good; my husband loves it. I increased the sugar to 1 1/4 cups, kept the rest the same (personal taste, I guess).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I wasn't too sure about the combination of rhubarb and raspberry at first but I'm glad I tried it! I like things a little tart, so I used 3/4 cup of sugar instead of a cup. Like another reviewer I brushed the top crust with eggwash then sprinkled with a touch of sugar. I also put a bit of lemon zest in filling. I will use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britishcolumbiagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Thank you for posting this delicious recipe. I made the pie for my father's birthday and he loved it. I did brush the top of the lattice with an egg wash (1 beaten egg with a little water or milk) and covered the edges of the crust with foil for the first half of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States