Rhubarb-Raspberry Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I love this recipe. It's my "go-to" recipe when the rhubarb starts overtaking my garden in the early summer! I have made it exactly as written (of course) and also substituted the raspberries for apples, peaches, strawberries, or blueberries. The result is perfect every time, regardless of whatever fruit you use. Also, I have made it with fresh or frozen rhubarb and it's still delicious. The amount of sugar can be adjusted depending on how sweet your rhubarb and other fruits are. I do agree with other reviewers that this does NOT serve 24 people. More likely, 6 to 8... but maybe that's because "restraint" is not in my family's vocabulary. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was excellent. I thought you could cut down on the sugar a bit, but the other members of my family thought it was perfect. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Modified the recipe for my lifestyle as follows: 1/4 c sugar, 3/8 c splenda, 3 T corn starch and 6 oz (1 1/2 c raspberries) for the rhubarb/raspberry filling. Used 1/4 c each brown sugar, whole wheat flour, oats and butter. Baked in a 9x9 square pan. I would make it again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
very easy to ake and was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is quite good! 1) This should be for a 9x9 pan. It already seemed a little thin in the square pan, I can't imagine trying to stretch it out to a 9x13. 2) Way too much sugar and butter! I don't usually shy away from sweet and buttery, but even cutting back to 3/4 c. sugar and 1/3 c. butter, it was too much. Next time I'll try 1/2 c. sugar and 1/4 c. butter. Other than that, the flavors here are superb. I didn't have tapioca so I subbed another tablespoon of cornstarch--probably not necessary, it was super thick. I might try adding a little cinnamon to the topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This recipe is easy enough but turned out way too sweet and runny! If i were to make it again I would probably use half the amount of sugar in the dry mix and add more cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was excellent although I had to do some adjusting - I increased the raspberries to approx. 4 cups and reduced the rhubarb to approx. 2.5 cups only because that was the kind of quantities I had. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and baked in a 9 X 9 square pan. Absolutely delicious - my husband said that it was the best raspberry crisp he had ever had and he would eat it all.............and he did except for a small corner square - and I do mean small. And it was so easy - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
The recipe as written gets three stars, for the reasons others have pointed out: too much sugar (I cut the granulated sugar by half); and it doesn't make nearly as much as the recipe says. I make it in an 8x8 pan, and it fits nicely. With those few tweaks, though, this makes a delicious crumble. I play with the fruits every time I make it, adding different berries, more berries than rhubarb, etc., and it always comes out great. The crumb-to-filling ratio is about 1:1, which is how I like it. But if you like more filling, cut the crumb back a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Delicious! I doubled recipe but only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Baked in 9 x 13. I've made with raspberries and strawberries and we enjoyed both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was great! I relied on several of the other reviews and made some modifications. I didn't have tapioca, so I added a tablespoon of flour with the cornstarch etc. and it worked out fine. I also reduced the amount of sugar to 3/4 c. All my fruit (4 c. rhubarb, bag blueberries, about 1 cup raspberries) was frozen, so I drained off nearly all of the liquid from them so that the crisp wasn't too runny. When measured out, it was probably about 6 cups of fruit and I put it in an 8 x 8 pan. I used all of the crumble, but I reduced the butter to 6 T instead of the full stick. The proportions seemed just right and the crisp was tart/sweet. Served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States