Rhubarb Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I think the pudding turned out a little bland. I would use more nutmeg, maybe even 1/2 tsp. I also used close to 4 1/2 C of rhubarb and that was barely enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Although I only made half the recipe, I used 2 cups of frozen rhubarb (thawed slightly and drained on a paper towel to absorb excess moisture) and thought the proportions were just right. Instead of using a lot of fresh rhubarb in the spring, I like to freeze it in ziploc bags and use it throughout the year. I gave this recipe a "5" based on adding the extra fruit and extra nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Didn't care for this at all. I try alot of recipes on All Recipes site and most are good. I am a very good cook. I definitely will not make this again. It isn't really pudding. It has the consistency of paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
i am cook for a living and have trried many new recipes in my time; and i have too say we made this at work and it was a hit, we even opted the rhubarb for apples once!!! only thing i recomend is cinnamin instead of nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I loved this recipe. I didn't have buttermilk so used what I had (2%) and I substituted a generous amount of cinnamon for the nutmeg. it was fantastic hot with vanilla ice cream. Will definately make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I would either add more rhubard or make less base the next time I make this (which I will.) I think I might add cinnamon also. We loved the concept, though and I think it would also work with other fruits. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
What a pleasant surprise! I was looking to use up last year's frozen rhubarb so wanted to use a few cups and found this. It really tastes like a bread pudding. I used cinnamon ,as suggested and just a little less sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This turned out very well! I made some changes: I used whole wheat flour, I cut the sugar by 1/2, then used 1/4 tsp powdered Stevia in the dough part and 1/2 tsp with the rhubarb. (I mixed the 1/2 tsp with the 1/2 cup sugar before sprinkling over rhubarb. I also used a little over 4 cups rhubarb (a good 1 lb). I sprinkled with nutmeg and cinnamon. Oh, I used a little less butter. It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
very good! I added about 1/2 t cinnamon to the batter along with 1/4 t nutmeg. I mixed the 1 cup sugar with the rhubarb before layering then sprinkled cinnamon on top. Flavour was very good although a little on the sweet side. Next time I'll try a little less sugar (maybe 3/4 c).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Petzold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very good and makes good use of a good amount of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisewoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Blue Hill, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States