Rhubarb Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2001
I was so disappointed with this recipe. I followed the directions, and after it baked I let it sit for about 15 minutes. Then I turned it out onto a serving plate, and the pudding was not set, and in turn ended up all over my counter and kitchen floor! I ended up with no dessert for my card club, because there was no more time to make anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2001
this cake was just awful. all the time and money spent in this cake and it didn't come out right. i had pudding everywhere. it didn't set in like it should have.......total yuck......DO NOT WAST YOUR TIME ON THIS ONE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
This is a great cake. It's easy to make and a welcome change from breads or pies. I can't wait to serve it to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was very tasty but I wondered about reversing the order of cake on the bottom, filling, then pudding on the top. It wasn't a cake that could be served nicely. I also try to substitute brown sugar for white, wondered if anyone has tried that. Otherwise, it is a good combination of ingrediants. Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I think this cake has some potential. I didn't have a 9 in square baking pan so I used a 9 X 11. I think I could have used more rhubarb. It did start to cook over a little in the oven. I also didn't turn it over when I was done baking it. I just scooped the pudding mixture on top of the cake when we ate it. It tasted good. A little messy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Really a WASTE. Pudding mix went all over the counter. Had to throw it all away. I followed the recipe to the tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My family and I really like that dessert exspecially warm with cream or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I found this recipe looking for something to use some of my moms fresh rhubarb. I almost didn't make it after reading some of the comments, but decided to give it a shot anyway. It turned out alright, but I did not flip it out of the pan and just served it in bowls almost like dumplings but dessert. I also think it was a bit bland, all I tasted was vanilla. Maybe there should be some more rhubarb or another kind of fruit such as strawberries added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollyberry
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I have made this cake several times and it's always a hit! The only issue I had is that I've had to use a larger baking dish (or less cake mix - bake separately and use extra pudding sauce to drizzle) and check carefully to make sure the center of the cake is done. One trick I use for turning it out is to bake it in a 9" deep sided pie dish and use a fancier pie plate with a larger circumference for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollyberry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States