Rhubarb Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hollyberry
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I have made this cake several times and it's always a hit! The only issue I had is that I've had to use a larger baking dish (or less cake mix - bake separately and use extra pudding sauce to drizzle) and check carefully to make sure the center of the cake is done. One trick I use for turning it out is to bake it in a 9" deep sided pie dish and use a fancier pie plate with a larger circumference for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollyberry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My family and I really like that dessert exspecially warm with cream or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I found this recipe looking for something to use some of my moms fresh rhubarb. I almost didn't make it after reading some of the comments, but decided to give it a shot anyway. It turned out alright, but I did not flip it out of the pan and just served it in bowls almost like dumplings but dessert. I also think it was a bit bland, all I tasted was vanilla. Maybe there should be some more rhubarb or another kind of fruit such as strawberries added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was very tasty but I wondered about reversing the order of cake on the bottom, filling, then pudding on the top. It wasn't a cake that could be served nicely. I also try to substitute brown sugar for white, wondered if anyone has tried that. Otherwise, it is a good combination of ingrediants. Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Really a WASTE. Pudding mix went all over the counter. Had to throw it all away. I followed the recipe to the tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I think this cake has some potential. I didn't have a 9 in square baking pan so I used a 9 X 11. I think I could have used more rhubarb. It did start to cook over a little in the oven. I also didn't turn it over when I was done baking it. I just scooped the pudding mixture on top of the cake when we ate it. It tasted good. A little messy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2003
This is a great cake. It's easy to make and a welcome change from breads or pies. I can't wait to serve it to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2001
this cake was just awful. all the time and money spent in this cake and it didn't come out right. i had pudding everywhere. it didn't set in like it should have.......total yuck......DO NOT WAST YOUR TIME ON THIS ONE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
I was so disappointed with this recipe. I followed the directions, and after it baked I let it sit for about 15 minutes. Then I turned it out onto a serving plate, and the pudding was not set, and in turn ended up all over my counter and kitchen floor! I ended up with no dessert for my card club, because there was no more time to make anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States