Rhubarb Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Laura
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This is a delicious recipe! I was a little worried about the rhubarb being fully cooked so I went a head & poached it in boiling water for 10 minutes to make sure it was soft. (I had a pie not turn out so great before when I didn't know about poaching rhubarb.) This cake is beautiful! Some of the topping stuck to the bottom of the pan when I flipped it over but it came off easy & I just spread it right back on top of the cake. I also garnished the cake with pineapple rings since this is for Nana's 85th birthday. Thanks for the great recipe! A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I tried the white cake mix and did not care much for it so next time I made the cake with yellow cake mix. It turned out great. You will have to try it yourself and see what you think. All and all, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATORGRAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Citra, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Absoltuely delicious. Make sure you chop the rhubarb so that it is cooks while the cake bakes. 1hour is too long, it was done in 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S. White
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
My whole family loved this - even better than traditional pineapple upside-down cake. I used what rhubarb we had, which ended up being about 2 cups instead of 3, and found that 1 hour at 350 was a little much. Next time I'll try 1 hour at 325 or 50 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This is very good. I used a yellow cake mix as suggested by another reviewer and it turned out great! Everyone enjoyed it. Very flavorful. Great recipe for rhubarb! The pineapple adds an extra nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
De-lish! My brother-in-law loves this recipe. Didn't use as much rhubarb and used a bigger box of gelatin b/c it's all I had. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
definitely a keeper!!!!!! Had a lot of requests for the recipe...many didn't realize it was rhubarg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Didn't have Rhubarb and will certainly try later with it, but still tasted great just using pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I took this cake to a family dinner and there was not one crumb left. I used a yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Very simple delicious recipe. I didn't have crushed pineapple and substituted a can of fruit cocktail instead. Still turned out great. Even those who "think" they don't like rhubarb will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States