Rhubarb Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I make a version of this cake. I did not use pinapple. I just did everything but the pinapple. YUMMY! Just a note it takes a really long time to cook all the way through though. I also use all white sugar, no brown. YUM Also to note. I just layered everything. I first put down the rhubarb, then sprinkle white sugar over the top (only use 3/4 cup) and then sprinke the jello powder over the rhubarb. Next I sprinkle the marshmallows and then poor the cake batter over the top of it. Turns out perfect and is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grafton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Inkster, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made this cake for our family Labor Day celebration last week-end and every one loved it. I only baked mine for 45 mins. and that was purfect. Cooled it for 5 minutes before turning the cake over and everything still stuck to the pan. But not a problem, I just scooped it all off and smeared it over the top. The next day I had a leftover slice and added a small scoop of Cool Whip on top - and I think I would do that from now on - much better. Excellent recipe - thanks for sharring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
WOW! This is the absolute best pineapple upside down cake recipe I have ever made. It was a huge hit with the whole family. Extremely moist, because of the marshmallows. I chopped the rhubarb very small and it cooked just fine without pre-cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Didn't have Rhubarb and will certainly try later with it, but still tasted great just using pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I took this cake to a family dinner and there was not one crumb left. I used a yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Turned out great even with substitutions, so get creative! After deciding to make this recipe, I discovered I didn't really have all the ingredients. I used one large box of sugar-free cherry gelatin and cut both of the sugars down to 1/4 cup (as suggested by other reviewers). Instead of the pineapple, I used a 15-oz can of dark sweet pitted cherries-undrained-that I chopped in a food processor. I also opted to use a lemon cake mix. I left the cake in the pan and had to wait until it cooled completely for the bottom to gel. I didn't have any problems removing pieces from the pan, flipping upside down, and adding a dollop of cool whip. The end result was a nice, light and fruity, spring/summer dessert--almost strawberry shortcake-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I used yellow cake mix and cherry gelatin (since I didn't have strawberry gelatin). It was still very good. I cut down some on the sugar and could use some more cutting down. Turning the cake upside down was messy. Using a spoon to dish it out of the original pan would be an easier and less messy option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This is very good. I used a yellow cake mix as suggested by another reviewer and it turned out great! Everyone enjoyed it. Very flavorful. Great recipe for rhubarb! The pineapple adds an extra nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Absoltuely delicious. Make sure you chop the rhubarb so that it is cooks while the cake bakes. 1hour is too long, it was done in 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Very simple delicious recipe. I didn't have crushed pineapple and substituted a can of fruit cocktail instead. Still turned out great. Even those who "think" they don't like rhubarb will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States