Rhubarb Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This was delicious. I used the yellow cake mix and the bigger box of jello. (sugar free) I also will bake it next time for only 45mn.It was a little dry after an hr. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Growing up my mother always made "rhubarb upside down cake". She did not use the pineapple juice, but it makes a lovely addition. I was happy to find this recipe as I seem to have misplaced my copy of my mothers. We have always used yellow cake mix as well. It really does come out of the pan better if you let it completely cool before flipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I originally was looking for pineapple upside down cake but came across this one and realized I had rhubarb in the fridge, so I thought I would try it. I used Golden Butter cake mix. I only had about 2 cups of rhubarb, but I substituted with pineapple. I served it with Cool Whip and everyone loved it. Even my husband who was originally skeptic of the rhubarb. I am going to make this for our next family get together. Note: You do not have to precook the rhubarb as long as you cut it up small enough (I cut the stalks in half then dice them) it cooks perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
used apricot jello also added pretzel pieces. fresh apple is a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was too sweet for my taste. When i bake with rhubarb I am looking for a bit of tartness so if I make this again I will decrease the sugar. I had fun playing "cake mix DR". Well received and something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
What a great recipe! Thanks so much for sharing. I went with the other reviewers and used 1/4 cup for both the sugar and brown sugar and it was perfect. Used sugar free jello. I checked two stores and couldn't find strawberry so used raspberry the first time and lemon the second and both were very good. Left out the marshmellows because we don't need the extra calories! I used a sugar free yellow cake the first time and a Betty Crocker Gluten Free yellow cake the second time. Also agree that 45 minutes is perfect for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
absolutely delicious! Very simple to make. Mine was done in 50 minutes. Thanks for sharing. Now I can add another rhubarb recipe to my growing collection. I am currently trying to get rhubarb to grow at my house. I think I will be able to "harvest" it next year finally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This recipe was a huge hit - especially with fresh whipped cream! I used yellow butter cake instead of white and only baked it for 45 minutes, which was plenty (even at high altitude) for a 13x9 pan. I used uncooked rhubarb cut into 1/2 - 1/4" slices and didn't have any problems with it being undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I make a version of this cake. I did not use pinapple. I just did everything but the pinapple. YUMMY! Just a note it takes a really long time to cook all the way through though. I also use all white sugar, no brown. YUM Also to note. I just layered everything. I first put down the rhubarb, then sprinkle white sugar over the top (only use 3/4 cup) and then sprinke the jello powder over the rhubarb. Next I sprinkle the marshmallows and then poor the cake batter over the top of it. Turns out perfect and is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grafton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Inkster, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made this cake for our family Labor Day celebration last week-end and every one loved it. I only baked mine for 45 mins. and that was purfect. Cooled it for 5 minutes before turning the cake over and everything still stuck to the pan. But not a problem, I just scooped it all off and smeared it over the top. The next day I had a leftover slice and added a small scoop of Cool Whip on top - and I think I would do that from now on - much better. Excellent recipe - thanks for sharring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States