Rhubarb Orange Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This is a wonderful way to use up the abundance of rhubarb in your garden!! My husband is not a rhubarb fan but found this pie to be "out of this world". It is quite light, airy and appears to be from a gourmet pie shop!! The only thing I had to do differntly is put a foil tent over the pie about 1/2 way through the baking process because it seemed to be browning too much, too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Great recipe. My husband especially loved this. I used 3 Tablespoons of frozen orange juice concentrate. Nice change from our regular rhubarb desserts. Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle Pines, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This recipie was great, i am not a fan of pie crust so i used a graham cracker crust and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I made it and it taste great. Im waiting for my husband to come home because I have never made rhubarb pie before and I picked this for my first. He has been waiting some of this kinda pie in a long time and i noticed this year my rhubarb plant got really huge after I moved it and figured it loved its new home. So picked it and made some and hope he loves it. good recipe for sure making it again. *wink
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarafleming2009
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Very light and tasty; not tart at all! It bakes in 3 layers: creamy custard on the bottom, a thin layer of rhubarb cream over it, all topped by a crusty, merengue-like topping. All my 5 guests loved it, including my petite 85-year old friend who doesn't care much for rhubarbs. And, to my surprise, they all had 3 servings within a 1.5 hour time bracket! They were all puzzled by the taste of it -- "it doesn't taste like rhubarb pie," as they all put it in their own words. One thought it had a very faint nectarine flavor, the other a bit of berry, another perhaps a tad of baking chocolate powder, and the younger one believed it to have "a tangy hint of possibly orange?," he announced with a question mark in his voice. They talked about it for a long time, each trying to put a finger on what it tasted like -- it was actually fun to see them all trying to come up with a flavor they all agreed with. In liew of this, I would change the name of the recipe to "Mystery Rhubarb Custard Pie." ***** This recipe definetely merits a 5 STAR, even though it doesn't taste like rhubarb pie. NOTE: On step 2 of the recipe instructions, I beat the ingredients very well until the "liquid" was very smooth and "homogenized". Perhaps that's what separates the pie into 3 layers. Also, make sure to cover the pie with foil, during baking, after the merengue tans to a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Absolutely one of the best rhubarb recipes. Made more than expected and had to use a larger pie dish. Exceptional flavour, interesting texture and perfect for company. Watch you don't over cook it though. Recommended time is too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was extremely tasty, but not very attractive for a dessert....will definitely try to "pretty" it up somehow....other then that it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
5-stars don't even do this justice. This is both unusual AND delicious. The description refers to using orange juice concentrate (the ingredients just call for orange juice) so I used only the orange juice and got a wonderful taste blend that still allowed the unique rhubarb flavor to shine through. Also, I pre-bake this (and any crust that will be filled and baked) crust only for 10 minutes before I add the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
All in all, a great recipe. I will most definitely make it again! P.S. Not "kid-friendly;" no child I know will eat rhubarb, no matter what form it's in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Altos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I thought this turned out very nice. I accidently used jumbo eggs so there was too much filling and it cooked over the edge of the crust but other than that it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States