Rhubarb Orange Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was extremely tasty, but not very attractive for a dessert....will definitely try to "pretty" it up somehow....other then that it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I made it and it taste great. Im waiting for my husband to come home because I have never made rhubarb pie before and I picked this for my first. He has been waiting some of this kinda pie in a long time and i noticed this year my rhubarb plant got really huge after I moved it and figured it loved its new home. So picked it and made some and hope he loves it. good recipe for sure making it again. *wink
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarafleming2009
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I thought this turned out very nice. I accidently used jumbo eggs so there was too much filling and it cooked over the edge of the crust but other than that it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
5-stars don't even do this justice. This is both unusual AND delicious. The description refers to using orange juice concentrate (the ingredients just call for orange juice) so I used only the orange juice and got a wonderful taste blend that still allowed the unique rhubarb flavor to shine through. Also, I pre-bake this (and any crust that will be filled and baked) crust only for 10 minutes before I add the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Great recipe. My husband especially loved this. I used 3 Tablespoons of frozen orange juice concentrate. Nice change from our regular rhubarb desserts. Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle Pines, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I'm not really sure! :) I'm one of those odd young men that like to bake and try recipes from the internet. This is the first one I neither like or hate. I can't decide if I like it or not. I've had a couple slices now and I can't decide! Hehe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Absolutely one of the best rhubarb recipes. Made more than expected and had to use a larger pie dish. Exceptional flavour, interesting texture and perfect for company. Watch you don't over cook it though. Recommended time is too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Very light and tasty; not tart at all! It bakes in 3 layers: creamy custard on the bottom, a thin layer of rhubarb cream over it, all topped by a crusty, merengue-like topping. All my 5 guests loved it, including my petite 85-year old friend who doesn't care much for rhubarbs. And, to my surprise, they all had 3 servings within a 1.5 hour time bracket! They were all puzzled by the taste of it -- "it doesn't taste like rhubarb pie," as they all put it in their own words. One thought it had a very faint nectarine flavor, the other a bit of berry, another perhaps a tad of baking chocolate powder, and the younger one believed it to have "a tangy hint of possibly orange?," he announced with a question mark in his voice. They talked about it for a long time, each trying to put a finger on what it tasted like -- it was actually fun to see them all trying to come up with a flavor they all agreed with. In liew of this, I would change the name of the recipe to "Mystery Rhubarb Custard Pie." ***** This recipe definetely merits a 5 STAR, even though it doesn't taste like rhubarb pie. NOTE: On step 2 of the recipe instructions, I beat the ingredients very well until the "liquid" was very smooth and "homogenized". Perhaps that's what separates the pie into 3 layers. Also, make sure to cover the pie with foil, during baking, after the merengue tans to a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This recipie was great, i am not a fan of pie crust so i used a graham cracker crust and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
This is a wonderful way to use up the abundance of rhubarb in your garden!! My husband is not a rhubarb fan but found this pie to be "out of this world". It is quite light, airy and appears to be from a gourmet pie shop!! The only thing I had to do differntly is put a foil tent over the pie about 1/2 way through the baking process because it seemed to be browning too much, too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States