Rhubarb Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
At first I didn't like these muffins. I ate one as soon as is was cool enough to bare and they were quite slimy. The next morning, however, the exact same muffins were great! I love this recipe. I'm going to try to change the topping a bit, but otherwise they are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
I am only a moderate lover of rhubarb, but my mouth watered when I ate these! I did leave out the walmuts, and I was able to make 18! If you stretch to 1 1/2 dozen, that helps on the overflow. I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Takes time but well worth the outcome, my family and friends love the muffins and they are very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This recipe needed a few alterations for success. I took the advice of some of the previous reviews and made the following changes ;I added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar to the batter, as well as a 1/4 cup of canola oil. I chopped the rhubarb quite fine, and used thin stalks. I did not use the topping in the recipe, but used a 1/4 cup brown sugar, and 1 tsp of cinnamon, mixed and sprinkled on top. Lastly, I seriously question the cooking temp. Most muffins seem to be in the 400*F range, and I found them still very undercooked following the recipes directions for time and temp. I had to cook them an additional 8 min. at 400*F. After all that.....it was a good muffin! With these changes I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I substituted diced apple for the rhubarb one time... It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNASMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
These had a good flavor, but the sugar/ butter topping was too much. It made the muffins too moist to keep well & spilled out on the muffin tin. I thought they were actually pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Very moist! I loved the topping. It did make a bit of mess as the topping spilled over while they were baking but who cares! Very easy and quick to make. I would leave out the walnuts next time though - not a big walnut fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This is a very moist and delicious muffin. I did do a couple of changes to the recipe. I added 1/2 white sugar and for the topping I used 1/4 brown sugar instead of the 1/2 of white sugar. I baked the muffins at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Turned out great, thank you for the recipe Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I think this is a successful non-fat muffin, with a couple of considerations. First, as with any muffin, chop the fruit small. As my rhubarb was already sliced into 1/8"-1/4" slices, cutting largest ones in half or thirds was tedious but worth it. Second, for more taste, I used some oat "flour" in the batter: I whirled 1 cup of Quick oats in food-processor, and substituted it for white flour (about 1/2 c.?) Third, I'll add a bit more salt next time: 1 1/4 tsp or 1 1/2 tsp. I also thought that the lack of a fat in the recipe might have been a mistake, but when you look at it as a non-fat recipe, it is good! My topping didn't melt (did I use too little butter?) but did end up looking like chunks of crushed ice perched on the muffin tops. I think I'll just sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made these for a friend who is lactose intolerant and on a low-sugar diet. So I used Alpro vanilla soymilk instead of buttermilk and Stevia natural sweetener instead of sugar (available from health shops). They came out a little dry but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States