Rhubarb Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This recipe needed a few alterations for success. I took the advice of some of the previous reviews and made the following changes ;I added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar to the batter, as well as a 1/4 cup of canola oil. I chopped the rhubarb quite fine, and used thin stalks. I did not use the topping in the recipe, but used a 1/4 cup brown sugar, and 1 tsp of cinnamon, mixed and sprinkled on top. Lastly, I seriously question the cooking temp. Most muffins seem to be in the 400*F range, and I found them still very undercooked following the recipes directions for time and temp. I had to cook them an additional 8 min. at 400*F. After all that.....it was a good muffin! With these changes I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
At first I didn't like these muffins. I ate one as soon as is was cool enough to bare and they were quite slimy. The next morning, however, the exact same muffins were great! I love this recipe. I'm going to try to change the topping a bit, but otherwise they are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Takes time but well worth the outcome, my family and friends love the muffins and they are very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
I am only a moderate lover of rhubarb, but my mouth watered when I ate these! I did leave out the walmuts, and I was able to make 18! If you stretch to 1 1/2 dozen, that helps on the overflow. I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I substituted diced apple for the rhubarb one time... It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made these for a friend who is lactose intolerant and on a low-sugar diet. So I used Alpro vanilla soymilk instead of buttermilk and Stevia natural sweetener instead of sugar (available from health shops). They came out a little dry but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
These had a good flavor, but the sugar/ butter topping was too much. It made the muffins too moist to keep well & spilled out on the muffin tin. I thought they were actually pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Very moist! I loved the topping. It did make a bit of mess as the topping spilled over while they were baking but who cares! Very easy and quick to make. I would leave out the walnuts next time though - not a big walnut fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This is a very moist and delicious muffin. I did do a couple of changes to the recipe. I added 1/2 white sugar and for the topping I used 1/4 brown sugar instead of the 1/2 of white sugar. I baked the muffins at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Turned out great, thank you for the recipe Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I think this is a successful non-fat muffin, with a couple of considerations. First, as with any muffin, chop the fruit small. As my rhubarb was already sliced into 1/8"-1/4" slices, cutting largest ones in half or thirds was tedious but worth it. Second, for more taste, I used some oat "flour" in the batter: I whirled 1 cup of Quick oats in food-processor, and substituted it for white flour (about 1/2 c.?) Third, I'll add a bit more salt next time: 1 1/4 tsp or 1 1/2 tsp. I also thought that the lack of a fat in the recipe might have been a mistake, but when you look at it as a non-fat recipe, it is good! My topping didn't melt (did I use too little butter?) but did end up looking like chunks of crushed ice perched on the muffin tops. I think I'll just sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States