Rhubarb Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This recipe needed a few alterations for success. I took the advice of some of the previous reviews and made the following changes ;I added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar to the batter, as well as a 1/4 cup of canola oil. I chopped the rhubarb quite fine, and used thin stalks. I did not use the topping in the recipe, but used a 1/4 cup brown sugar, and 1 tsp of cinnamon, mixed and sprinkled on top. Lastly, I seriously question the cooking temp. Most muffins seem to be in the 400*F range, and I found them still very undercooked following the recipes directions for time and temp. I had to cook them an additional 8 min. at 400*F. After all that.....it was a good muffin! With these changes I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
I think this is a successful non-fat muffin, with a couple of considerations. First, as with any muffin, chop the fruit small. As my rhubarb was already sliced into 1/8"-1/4" slices, cutting largest ones in half or thirds was tedious but worth it. Second, for more taste, I used some oat "flour" in the batter: I whirled 1 cup of Quick oats in food-processor, and substituted it for white flour (about 1/2 c.?) Third, I'll add a bit more salt next time: 1 1/4 tsp or 1 1/2 tsp. I also thought that the lack of a fat in the recipe might have been a mistake, but when you look at it as a non-fat recipe, it is good! My topping didn't melt (did I use too little butter?) but did end up looking like chunks of crushed ice perched on the muffin tops. I think I'll just sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This is a very moist and delicious muffin. I did do a couple of changes to the recipe. I added 1/2 white sugar and for the topping I used 1/4 brown sugar instead of the 1/2 of white sugar. I baked the muffins at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Turned out great, thank you for the recipe Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made these for a friend who is lactose intolerant and on a low-sugar diet. So I used Alpro vanilla soymilk instead of buttermilk and Stevia natural sweetener instead of sugar (available from health shops). They came out a little dry but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
These taste good but are very messy. They overflowed the muffin tins and the topping went everywhere. I might try eliminating the topping and putting a little oil/butter in the muffin plus a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very good! I scaled the recipe to 8 servings and still came out with 12 normal size muffins...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
The muffins didn't turn out as I expected - very heavy - not cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Isn't it odd that this doesn't contain any oil or butter? The topping was too much and melted off of the muffins and all over my pan and oven. Taste of muffins would be enhanced by some sort of oil or shortening---a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Very moist! I loved the topping. It did make a bit of mess as the topping spilled over while they were baking but who cares! Very easy and quick to make. I would leave out the walnuts next time though - not a big walnut fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I didn't enjoy these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States