Rhubarb Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2001
These taste good but are very messy. They overflowed the muffin tins and the topping went everywhere. I might try eliminating the topping and putting a little oil/butter in the muffin plus a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Takes time but well worth the outcome, my family and friends love the muffins and they are very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
These had a good flavor, but the sugar/ butter topping was too much. It made the muffins too moist to keep well & spilled out on the muffin tin. I thought they were actually pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Very moist! I loved the topping. It did make a bit of mess as the topping spilled over while they were baking but who cares! Very easy and quick to make. I would leave out the walnuts next time though - not a big walnut fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
I wanted to like this, i really did.. no oil and low sugar and a few good reviews, i thought i'd hit the jackpot. Alas... i found them heavy and bland punctuated by huge lumps of too-sour rhubarb. My son found them inedible. Maybe i didn't chop the rhubarb finely enough? Maybe i shouldn't have omitted the sugar topping? I didn't like the basic taste/texture enough to bother trying again with "tweaks". Too bad. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This recipe needed a few alterations for success. I took the advice of some of the previous reviews and made the following changes ;I added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar to the batter, as well as a 1/4 cup of canola oil. I chopped the rhubarb quite fine, and used thin stalks. I did not use the topping in the recipe, but used a 1/4 cup brown sugar, and 1 tsp of cinnamon, mixed and sprinkled on top. Lastly, I seriously question the cooking temp. Most muffins seem to be in the 400*F range, and I found them still very undercooked following the recipes directions for time and temp. I had to cook them an additional 8 min. at 400*F. After all that.....it was a good muffin! With these changes I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
At first I didn't like these muffins. I ate one as soon as is was cool enough to bare and they were quite slimy. The next morning, however, the exact same muffins were great! I love this recipe. I'm going to try to change the topping a bit, but otherwise they are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This is a very moist and delicious muffin. I did do a couple of changes to the recipe. I added 1/2 white sugar and for the topping I used 1/4 brown sugar instead of the 1/2 of white sugar. I baked the muffins at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Turned out great, thank you for the recipe Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Like the reviewer above me, I really wanted to like this recipe, also. I thought it was very bland. However, I didn't put the topping on; maybe that would have made a difference but I doubt it. If someone wanted to try this recipe, I would suggest cutting back on the amount of rhubarb (2 cups would be enough), chope the rhubarb fine, and increase the brown sugar to one cup, or add 1/2 cup of white sugar. I would also increase the cinnamon. I most likely will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
I am only a moderate lover of rhubarb, but my mouth watered when I ate these! I did leave out the walmuts, and I was able to make 18! If you stretch to 1 1/2 dozen, that helps on the overflow. I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States