Rhubarb Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
I substituted diced apple for the rhubarb one time... It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNASMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
I am only a moderate lover of rhubarb, but my mouth watered when I ate these! I did leave out the walmuts, and I was able to make 18! If you stretch to 1 1/2 dozen, that helps on the overflow. I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Like the reviewer above me, I really wanted to like this recipe, also. I thought it was very bland. However, I didn't put the topping on; maybe that would have made a difference but I doubt it. If someone wanted to try this recipe, I would suggest cutting back on the amount of rhubarb (2 cups would be enough), chope the rhubarb fine, and increase the brown sugar to one cup, or add 1/2 cup of white sugar. I would also increase the cinnamon. I most likely will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This is a very moist and delicious muffin. I did do a couple of changes to the recipe. I added 1/2 white sugar and for the topping I used 1/4 brown sugar instead of the 1/2 of white sugar. I baked the muffins at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. Turned out great, thank you for the recipe Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
At first I didn't like these muffins. I ate one as soon as is was cool enough to bare and they were quite slimy. The next morning, however, the exact same muffins were great! I love this recipe. I'm going to try to change the topping a bit, but otherwise they are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This recipe needed a few alterations for success. I took the advice of some of the previous reviews and made the following changes ;I added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar to the batter, as well as a 1/4 cup of canola oil. I chopped the rhubarb quite fine, and used thin stalks. I did not use the topping in the recipe, but used a 1/4 cup brown sugar, and 1 tsp of cinnamon, mixed and sprinkled on top. Lastly, I seriously question the cooking temp. Most muffins seem to be in the 400*F range, and I found them still very undercooked following the recipes directions for time and temp. I had to cook them an additional 8 min. at 400*F. After all that.....it was a good muffin! With these changes I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
I wanted to like this, i really did.. no oil and low sugar and a few good reviews, i thought i'd hit the jackpot. Alas... i found them heavy and bland punctuated by huge lumps of too-sour rhubarb. My son found them inedible. Maybe i didn't chop the rhubarb finely enough? Maybe i shouldn't have omitted the sugar topping? I didn't like the basic taste/texture enough to bother trying again with "tweaks". Too bad. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Very moist! I loved the topping. It did make a bit of mess as the topping spilled over while they were baking but who cares! Very easy and quick to make. I would leave out the walnuts next time though - not a big walnut fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
These had a good flavor, but the sugar/ butter topping was too much. It made the muffins too moist to keep well & spilled out on the muffin tin. I thought they were actually pretty easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
Takes time but well worth the outcome, my family and friends love the muffins and they are very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States