Rhubarb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Way back in 2007, the first reviewer of this undiscovered gem had it right. These are delicious, require no changes and will be a new favorite. With only four reviews, the last of which was two years ago, this recipe has curiously been neglected. These are light and fluffy, not too sweet, subtley spiced with the hint of nutmeg, allowing the fresh, tart rhubarb flavor to shine. The brown sugar lends its golden color while the buttermilk (I swear it’s nearly a guarantee of a fine recipe!) ensures moistness. I sprinkled a little freshly ground cinnamon sugar over the top, just enough to give them a little pizzazz. The batter is so nice in this recipe that it need not be limited to just rhubarb. Other fruits, such as apples, peaches, blueberries, etc., would be fine substitutes. A happy find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
These are very scrumptious, I just found a new favorite muffin. Thank you for sharing this. I did not make any changes to the recipe. Wonderful just like it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Excellent muffins.. I used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose, and apple sauce instead of oil. I was trying to use some leftover rhubarb and was a little short so added some blueberries to make up the difference. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
These muffins are drop dead delicious! Unfortunately, I did not have buttermilk on hand and had to use the vinegar/milk substitution (which I don't find as good as the real thing). Also added 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon to the dry ingredients and the rhubarb (to avoid over mixing), plus a generous sprinkling of turbinado sugar on top of each muffin before baking. Can't wait to try other fruits such as peach, mango, etc. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Alma ... definitely a winner here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
A winner at the market. Added some diced fresh strawberries from my patio. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cowichan Bay, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
If muffins are hanging around after the first day, they usually get tossed. These were still moist and fresh two days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Sub'd one cup of whole wheat for white..very moist and delicious...not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Excellent! Fast, easy and delicious. The only thing I will do next time is add another cup of rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is a good basic muffin recipe for Rhubarb. I so wanted to add walnuts, but followed the recipe exactly. (except I use Lactose Free milk in ALL recipes calling for milk) These were real good, just didn't knock my socks off. I will try other recipes. And, maybe come back and tweak this one. Oh, and Hubby said to half the nutmeg. It had almost too much nutmeg taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
These were good! I liked how moist and flavorful they were. I will say when I was scooping the batter into the cupcake liners, it seemed like there was almost too much rhubarb - but then when I ate them, it seemed like there should've been more... so I'll probably increase the fruit next time. I loved the simple, subtle flavor the nutmeg gave these muffins and I'm sure the brown sugar helped round out the flavors too. I could definitely seeing this recipe used for a number of other fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States