Rhubarb Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I love this drink! I gave it 4-stars, as written - straining the rhubarb. It became a 5-star drink when I add the strained rhubarb back in the pot and use the immersion blender to mix it all together. It is a nice combination of tart and sweet. Because I tend to like things on the tart side, I will cut the sugar back to 2 1/2 cups, the next time. Luckily, I have access to plenty of rhubarb and use it for MANY recipes, this is definitely one of my favorite uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
My husband and I absolutely love this drink! Since we enjoy pulp in our drinks, I followed one reviewers suggestion and used my immersion blender to blend it all together. You can see the pulp, but honestly I don't notice it much while drinking and this way you also save more of the rhubarb flavor and with less hassle. We are planning on freezing most of it. That way we can scoop out as much as we want for when we want it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Side Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
It is very easy to make and it taste great. A lemonade with a hint of rhubarb! I am hoping to make a few batches and bottle them in mason jars to save for later, when the rhubarb is gone for the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Yum! My rhubarb plant is huge this year, so I was looking for different ways to use it. Made this last night and it's delicious this morning. Saved the pulp and hope to find a way to use it too. Maybe a topping for ice cream...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
We loved it with the following changes. We included some of the pulp; it seemed bland with just the juice. Then we only thinned it with water 1:1. Again, we wanted a stronger rhubarb taste. We have taken it to a few gatherings and it's a huge hit this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Absolutely wonderful. It makes a great, tangy lemonade that everyone loved. My rhubarb wasn't very red so I added a bit of food colouring just to give it that nice pinkish tint. Almost no one guessed that there was rhubarb in it although everone loved the taste of it. Some people told me how great they thought the strawberry lemonade was - they were quite surprised when they found out it was rhubarb. It's a great way to use rhubarb from the garden, and since I freeze a lot of the rhubarb from my plant I'll be able to make this well into the winter if I want to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBERLE3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I didn't find that this had much of a rhubarb taste. I think it might be better if you use the pulp. next time I'll try a slush recipe that uses pulp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Love this fresh lemonade! I put the concentrate in small jars and freeze them. I double the recipe and get about 5 small jars. With the excess pulp I decided it resembles banana mash for banana bread. So I made a Rhubarb/Lemon bread using the "Banana Banana Bread" recipe from this site, substituting the bananas, and only used a 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Very tasty as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
A nice way to use up rhubarb. Next time I will double the lemon juice to add more zing. Also next time I'll use artificial swwetener & see how that will work out. Nice pink color, almost like pink lemonade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AccidentalChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I opted to use concentrated lemon juice from the shelf instead of fresh. Perhaps frozen or fresh would make a better flavor, but I just couldn't get past that bottled lemon flavor. If you do not like the bottled "real lemon" shelf flavor then I'd suggest to try something else or skip the recipe. The rhubarb flavor was only slight. I also added another cup and a half when I made the recipe hoping it would stand out stronger. It was something different but, I'll pass as I could of had 2 desserts or so with the amount of rhubarb needed to make one gallon of lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States