Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
One of my best rhubarb things yet! I subbed 1/2c golden flax meal for 1/2c of the flour in the crust b/c I like the slightly nutty flavor (and extra fiber). Halved the sugar in the rhubarb/egg mixture, and was a little generous in my rhubarb measurement. REally a keeper. I'm hoping they'll freeze ok. I can't stop eating them. Update-- it's 2 months later and they froze like a dream.. I cut them before freezing and put them between layers of wax paper in a plastic storage container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Agreed with other reviewers: 10 min extra for baking non-stick spray sides of pan 2 cups of sugar sufficient This was my first attempt at bars and they were what I would consider a gourmet comfort food result. My boyfriend is a country boy and he said this was better than any rhubarb his mother had ever made (!!!). I did swap out 1/2 cup of brown sugar for the white, and added chopped up crystallized ginger to the mix as I folded in the rhubarb. Made a lovely, complex flavour and the ginger mellowed when cooked. The shortbread bottom layer which I was worried about turned out light and delicious. This is a winner that I will make again for sure :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious! I only use 1.5 c of sugar in the egg mixture. If you're on a diet, do not make these! Once I have one, I can't stop myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very easy and very good. I was encouraged to try this after reading the other reviews, but these were so good that I actually HAD to register on the site to review this. I took this to a potluck and apparently while I was gone, EVERYONE was asking, "Who brought the rhubarb bars?" They are still talking about them the next day. I decreased the white sugar to 1 1/2 cups based on other reviews. I used frozen rhubarb, so added 1 tsp. of tapioca. And I used unbleached flour. Very easy recipe. For family I would definitely use whole grain flour to add to the nutritional value. Definitely--give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was excellent, even though I was not sure how it would turn out. I used raw sugar instead of white, coconut and soft whole wheat pastry flour instead of all purpose for more minerals and fiber. Very good, I could not stop eating more than one! o yes, only 1 and 1/2cups of sugar was enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Very good new rhubarb recipe for me! I used only 1 3/4 c. sugar in the filling and will probably use 1 1/2 c. next time. I also used 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour in crust. It took about 45 min. to bake, also. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Easy recipes for rhubarb. I've made this for two summers now and it goes over well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holley McLellan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Destin, Florida, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
All I can say about this recipe is "WOW!". What a great way to fix rhubarb -- the shortbread crust really enhances the flavors. My husband loves rhubarb, pretty much anything rhubarb, but after he tasted this recipe, he said this is by far his favorite. I fixed it with the ingredients listed, but sprinkled cinnamon on top for a little more color prior to baking. I think next time I may add some tapioca to thicken it just a little, but otherwise, it is oh so delish!! Thank you for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
My mom made these when I was a child. I always double the crust and use some of it to top off the bars. I have also used blueberries, instead of rhubarb. I add in a little extra flour, because of the juiciness of the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I used rhubarb and strawberries mixed (4 and 2 cups). I added a little lime juice to zip it up. It was good, but the rhubarb got a little glue-like in texture. I think it has too much flour in with the fruit. I will try again with tapioca instead, which I know makes better pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States