Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Absolutely my VERY FAVORITE Rhubarb dessert ever! I have been making this for years and love, love, LOVE IT!!!! I like the tartness of rhubarb so I decrease the sugar by at least 1/2 cup and it's still plenty sweet. I also make real whipped cream to go with this. (Cool whip or whip-in-a-can just don't do this recipe justice, but in a pinch will use it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Excellent. The only thing I HAD to change was the eggs because I didn't have 6, I only had 5, but the recipe still turned out fantastic. I would recommend this to anyone who loves rhubarb pie. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Use 2 cups of sugar instead of 3. Serve chilled and top with Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
After reading all the reviews. I cut the sugar in half and added one cup of rhubarb and baked an extra 20 minutes. I tripled the recipe because I had a ton of rhubarb to use and it was fine. It made 2 1/2 large lasagna dishes. It was gone in less than 2 days. Everyone couldn't stop eating it. Even my dad, who doesn't bring home leftovers, asked for some to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
These are great. I used about 1/3 cup less sugar in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Thank you for posting a new family favourite! The only change I made was to decrease the sugar to 2C and I had a scant 4C of fresh rhubarb to add in. In my oven they came out perfectly in 35 minutes and I did not have the filling stick to the pan as other have. These are heavenly bars and I'm sure everyone will enjoy them as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I have been making these for years, we love them.One thing I do different is when they cool I sprinkle power sugar on top.Then cut into bars, yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I loved the flavor of the crust and filling. I cooked this an additional 15 minutes however this never set up and was still slightly soupy which is why I gave it only 3 stars. After slicing and removing a bar, the liquid would pool in the empty area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is REALLY good. If you're looking for a great rhubarb recipe, this is it! I used 2 cups of sugar instead of three, and I promise you can't tell at all; it is still very sweet (probably because of the crust). I used a little over five cups of rhubarb, and thought it was perfect. Following others' suggestions, I baked for 45 minutes with wonderful results. I highly recommend this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sadie's Kitchen
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
These bars were loved even by those that swore they HATE rhubarb! I chose to bake mine in a spring form pan and made sure I greased the sides and bottom first. They turned out beautifully. I did cut a bit of the sugar out but will put in even less next time. The buttery base layer and sweet tangy rhubarb was the perfect combination. I will definitely be freezing some of our rhubarb in order to enjoy this next winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Maple-Pumpkin Pie Bars

These simple holiday pumpkin pie bars have layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States