Rhubarb Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Loved these bars...so easy to make! Made a couple changes..Used 3 cups rubarb, and instead of mixing the coconut and nuts to rubarb/egg mixture. I topped everything off with 6 oz coconut and 2 oz of chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Superior, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I pressed the crust into muffin cup tins; I put the filling on top. I served it with a scoop of pineapple coconut icecream (and a strawberry garnish). It was a pretty desert to bring to a neighbor's house for dinner! We all enjoyed it. (PS did not use coconut in the rhubarb bars because I didn't have any),
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I've made this recipe for a couple of get-togethers and everyone has raved about how delicious it tastes. I've been asked for the recipe every time. I think the ingredients that really help set this dessert off is the combination of walnuts with the coconut -- simply great together with the rhubarb. Thank you for a yummy recipe! I've made no substitutions to the ingredients and it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Per other reviews, I added just one cup of sugar, which was plenty sweet for us. Also added two additional cups chopped strawberries to cut the tart rhubarb flavor. Delicious with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Wow! Wow! Wow! Next time I will use less sugar but absolutely delicious way to use rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
These take me back to spring at my Aunt Marg's!! So good!!! Now, writing out the recipe for my Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
These are the most incredible rhubarb bars I have ever tasted. The only thing I added was a sprinkle of raspberry jello powder over the top before baking. WOW! Hands down the best I've ever had, and my family agrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Followed the advice of other reviewers, and I almost doubled the amount of rhubarb, and used only a cup of sugar. I just love the tartness of rhubarb, and by doubling the amount used the tartness still was there, yet the sweetness of the sugar made these bars quite enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Fantastic sweet/sour combination. I doubled the rhubarb and it could still use a cup or two more. Great recipe thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made this twice. The first time I did not quite get the crust quite right, but everyone still loved it. I did better the second time around, since I had a better idea of what to expect and they were a huge hit! I took them to a picnic and they were gone in no time. Even people who said they don't really like rhubarb wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Mack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States