Rhubarb Custard Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I have been making this pie for years. It is my family's favorite pie. The only problem is finding the rhubarb on the market. I finally planted my own and freeze the rhubarb so I have it available all year long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Good recipe! I had about 5 cups of rhubarb so I added a splash (about 1/4 C) milk and an extra egg, I also added 1 tsp vanilla. Fantastic dessert. I served it cold and it was a hit, even to those with a bad idea of what rhubarb tastes like. Also I already had 2 refrigerated pie crusts so I used those instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This pie tastes very orange juicy. Even though you only use 1/4 cup, the flavor is powerful. I would use less next time. However, this is THEE best pie crust EVER!!! I will use this pie crust recipe over and over and over!! Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
EXCELLENT ALSO PIE CRUST IS A KEEPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This pie is awesome. What really makes it is the crust. I have been trying for years to make my grandma's pie crust... Now, I think I've got it! I made a blueberry and mixed berry pie with this crust and they were awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Fantastic! I used half sour cream and half plain yogurt to cut the fat down. I served this cold out of the fridge with sweetened heavy cream. My husband hates rhubarb. But he really liked this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I had misplaced my recipe, which was my grandmother's, from the 1930s. How delighted to find it here, as my daughter just asked for it. I often just make the filling as a pudding, and we all really have enjoyed it for decades.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I used this crust recipe for anothe pie. Pie tasted delish, crust did stick to the bottom of the pie plate but that could be my error in greasing the plate I suppose. Had no complaints on the pie or the crust so it's a thumbs up from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I only used the recipe for making a pie crust for a different sort of pie - it was wonderful! I had no experience making pies, but it turned out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This pie was good, but what really impressed me and everyone else was the pastry itself. I have NEVER been able to make good flakey crusts, and this one was excellent! Made according to direction, the crust was very wet, but when I rolled it out on lots of flour, it turned out perfectly! I have kept this crust recipe and now use it for all of my pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States