Rhubarb Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I have to double the ingrediants because I have deep pie pans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSE ANN TRACY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
My Mom found this recipe when she first got married in 1938. It was from the "American Woman's Cook Book" which is an old 3" thick green book that has seen better days, but is still in my cupboard. The rhubard pie is just as good now as it was in 1938. The only hint I can tell you is to add a tablespoon or so of flour and one of sugar in the bottom of the pie crust before you add the filling. Mom said that keeps the crust from getting soggy. Now I have to go out and find some rhubarb. I NEED to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This pie had a very good flavor, but the bottom was like soup! Runny and soggy bottom crust. I made this for my mother in law for her birthday. She loved it though. We ended up cutting it up and spooning the unplanned "sauce" over it. It wasn't very attractive but tasted great! Not sure what I did wrong, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
This is the first time I have cooked with rhubarb, I thought it would be really hard and turn out sour. This receipt rocks. My mother-in-law said it was the best she's had. I am making it for my father-in-law with Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
very easy to make and very delicious. my family loved this pie. I recommend it to everyone. Even quicker to make if you use ready made pie crusts. Make sure to let it cool completely or the filling is runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
To be fair, I can't really rate this recipe because I modified it quite a bit. I wanted to share my version since it turned out very good. Preheat oven to 425. Beat 3 egg yolk till pale yellow, add 1 c white sugar, 3 T milk. Beat until smooth. Add 1/2 c more white sugar and 1/4 c flour and beat until smooth. Add 1 T milk, 1/4 c white sugar, 1/4 t cinnamon, 1 t vanilla. Beat until smooth. Stir in 2 1/2 c sliced rhubard (0.5 inch pieces). Pour into prepared pie shell (I used Baker's Secret Pie Crust from this site-- perfect!!), dot with 2 T butter. Cover with second pie crust. Brush with milk and sprinkle white sugar on top. Bake on bottom rack of oven at 425 for 10 minutes. Drop temperature to 375 and bake until crust turns golden brown, approximately 40 more minutes. Watch the time carefully at the end because if you overdo it, the top might collapse in a bit (and it just doesn't look as nice). Hope you enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I love rhubarb pie and this one is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This pie is so good! It's just like my mom used to make...just one comment - make sure you let it cool completely before cutting it or it will be too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This pie was awesome!! It had a great sweet yet tart flavor. I will definitely use this recipe again. I added a cup more of rhubarb to fill in the pie plate a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
My husband is a pie lover. He was very impressed with this one. I know I will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL D. THOMPSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States