Rhubarb Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SAM111948
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This pie was very good. It has a sweet yet tart flavor. I was surprised to have it turn out like a custard pie with no custard-like filling. I will make it again as it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAM111948

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I only added 3/4 c. of sugar, but it was still way too sweet. I tried the rhubarb pie from allrecipes that calls for 1 1/3 c. sugar per 4 cups of rhubarb and that ratio was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Love this pie. I too don't see the custard part but I don't care....DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Easy, excellent tasting pie! I slightly increased the flour (used 3 tbl) with frozen rhubarb. Also brushed the top crust with milk and sprinkled lightly with white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I THOUGHT IS WAS DELICIOUS BUT I DID ADD AN EXTRA EGG AND 1/4 CUP EVAPORATED MILK FOR A MORE CUSTARD LOOK I WILL DEFINTELY MAKE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
It was good -very mild flavor. Not my favorite rhubarb dessert, yet different and fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMIES2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This tasted pretty good, but the crust was SO soggy, even after I sprinkled the crust with extra flour. I also think the 'custard' mix is a bit strange, more like crumbs. Good flavour, but I'll try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I wish I could give this 0 stars, because it was nothing more than pieces of rhubard floating around in liquid, and I even let it cool completely. I followed the recipe exactly. So, I don't know what you all did to give it 5 stars! I don't even know where the "custard" part of the equation comes in either. Even when I mixing it all up, I was skeptical about what sort of consitancy it would turn out to be. It looked like rhubarb mixed with crumbs. The only good thing is that I used the flaky pie crust suggest by reviewer kelly h. That was good. Grrrr...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Sooooo yummy!!! I've made this pie 3 times in the last 2 weeks. I added an extra tbspn of flour to thicken the recipe and sprinkled the crust with 1 tbspn of flour and 1 tbspn of sugar, just like another rater suggested to do. I'm glad I did because it made the pie ready to eat just as soon as it wasn't piping hot! I'll definitely make this pie again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This pie takes the cake (insert dorky snicker here). It is easy, inexpensive, and non-messy. I pair it with the Basic Flaky Pie Crust here (http://pie.allrecipes.com/az/BasicFlakyPieCrust.asp), using butter instead of shortening for the crust. It always gets compliments and makes up fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States