Rhubarb Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This pie is so good! It's just like my mom used to make...just one comment - make sure you let it cool completely before cutting it or it will be too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Sooooo yummy!!! I've made this pie 3 times in the last 2 weeks. I added an extra tbspn of flour to thicken the recipe and sprinkled the crust with 1 tbspn of flour and 1 tbspn of sugar, just like another rater suggested to do. I'm glad I did because it made the pie ready to eat just as soon as it wasn't piping hot! I'll definitely make this pie again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I love rhubarb pie and this one is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
This is the first time I have cooked with rhubarb, I thought it would be really hard and turn out sour. This receipt rocks. My mother-in-law said it was the best she's had. I am making it for my father-in-law with Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This pie takes the cake (insert dorky snicker here). It is easy, inexpensive, and non-messy. I pair it with the Basic Flaky Pie Crust here (http://pie.allrecipes.com/az/BasicFlakyPieCrust.asp), using butter instead of shortening for the crust. It always gets compliments and makes up fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
This is like my Mother used to make,and I have been looking a long time for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
To be fair, I can't really rate this recipe because I modified it quite a bit. I wanted to share my version since it turned out very good. Preheat oven to 425. Beat 3 egg yolk till pale yellow, add 1 c white sugar, 3 T milk. Beat until smooth. Add 1/2 c more white sugar and 1/4 c flour and beat until smooth. Add 1 T milk, 1/4 c white sugar, 1/4 t cinnamon, 1 t vanilla. Beat until smooth. Stir in 2 1/2 c sliced rhubard (0.5 inch pieces). Pour into prepared pie shell (I used Baker's Secret Pie Crust from this site-- perfect!!), dot with 2 T butter. Cover with second pie crust. Brush with milk and sprinkle white sugar on top. Bake on bottom rack of oven at 425 for 10 minutes. Drop temperature to 375 and bake until crust turns golden brown, approximately 40 more minutes. Watch the time carefully at the end because if you overdo it, the top might collapse in a bit (and it just doesn't look as nice). Hope you enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
very easy to make and very delicious. my family loved this pie. I recommend it to everyone. Even quicker to make if you use ready made pie crusts. Make sure to let it cool completely or the filling is runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
My Mom found this recipe when she first got married in 1938. It was from the "American Woman's Cook Book" which is an old 3" thick green book that has seen better days, but is still in my cupboard. The rhubard pie is just as good now as it was in 1938. The only hint I can tell you is to add a tablespoon or so of flour and one of sugar in the bottom of the pie crust before you add the filling. Mom said that keeps the crust from getting soggy. Now I have to go out and find some rhubarb. I NEED to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I have to double the ingrediants because I have deep pie pans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSE ANN TRACY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States