Rhubarb Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SAM111948
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This pie was very good. It has a sweet yet tart flavor. I was surprised to have it turn out like a custard pie with no custard-like filling. I will make it again as it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAM111948

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I only added 3/4 c. of sugar, but it was still way too sweet. I tried the rhubarb pie from allrecipes that calls for 1 1/3 c. sugar per 4 cups of rhubarb and that ratio was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Love this pie. I too don't see the custard part but I don't care....DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Easy, excellent tasting pie! I slightly increased the flour (used 3 tbl) with frozen rhubarb. Also brushed the top crust with milk and sprinkled lightly with white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I THOUGHT IS WAS DELICIOUS BUT I DID ADD AN EXTRA EGG AND 1/4 CUP EVAPORATED MILK FOR A MORE CUSTARD LOOK I WILL DEFINTELY MAKE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
It was good -very mild flavor. Not my favorite rhubarb dessert, yet different and fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMIES2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This tasted pretty good, but the crust was SO soggy, even after I sprinkled the crust with extra flour. I also think the 'custard' mix is a bit strange, more like crumbs. Good flavour, but I'll try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I wish I could give this 0 stars, because it was nothing more than pieces of rhubard floating around in liquid, and I even let it cool completely. I followed the recipe exactly. So, I don't know what you all did to give it 5 stars! I don't even know where the "custard" part of the equation comes in either. Even when I mixing it all up, I was skeptical about what sort of consitancy it would turn out to be. It looked like rhubarb mixed with crumbs. The only good thing is that I used the flaky pie crust suggest by reviewer kelly h. That was good. Grrrr...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Sooooo yummy!!! I've made this pie 3 times in the last 2 weeks. I added an extra tbspn of flour to thicken the recipe and sprinkled the crust with 1 tbspn of flour and 1 tbspn of sugar, just like another rater suggested to do. I'm glad I did because it made the pie ready to eat just as soon as it wasn't piping hot! I'll definitely make this pie again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This pie takes the cake (insert dorky snicker here). It is easy, inexpensive, and non-messy. I pair it with the Basic Flaky Pie Crust here (http://pie.allrecipes.com/az/BasicFlakyPieCrust.asp), using butter instead of shortening for the crust. It always gets compliments and makes up fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States