Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
As the recipe is written, there is a very, very small amount of rhubarb layer compared to the topping. I tried doubling the rhubarb layer (and only added 1.5 cups white sugar instead of 2), and liked it really well that way. Though the rhubarb filling would have been fine if it had been thicker. Honestly, I think the filling could have even been tripled and turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
absolutely fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This was a very good recipe. I did use 1 extra cup of rhubarb everything else the same. It was great hot &' cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenzilla
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Loved the crunchy results! Agree that could use more rhubarb, but I loved it anyway. Since I am a fan of tart, I almost always cut out some of the sugar - reduced 1/4 cup white. Ran out of butter (gasp!) so used 1/2 cup coconut oil with the 1/2 cup butter I had. This added a nice flavor and it felt a smidge healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
So good!! I used 6 cups of rhubarb and added 1/2 cup extra to the rhubarb mix but I probably did not need to add the extra sugar because it was nice and sweet. Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARONE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Waaay too much crisp, not enough fruit, too much sugar. I would suggest at LEAST 6 cups rhubarb, half the sugar in the filling, and don't put the full crust on top. Even if you use 6 cups of fruit you might consider a smaller size pan then 9x13 so the filling is thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
OMG! Made this last night - and WOW! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Didn't work for me.I think it needs double the rhubarb and In addition I added about 4 cups defrosted strawberries. Top was too crumbly even using a full stick of butter, expected more of a crunchy streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCLYNND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States