Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Love it! The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Followed other reviews and used 6 cups rhubarb plus 4 T flour, but also added 1 cup blackberries and one chopped, peeled apple. Used the recipe's topping measurements, but added 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t salt, 1/2 cup chopped pecans, plus used a mix of whole wheat pastry flour and all purpose flour for topping. I didn't like the blackberries or the apples I added so next time I would just use rhubarb. **The topping was fantastic after I added the salt, cinnamon, and nuts-I didn't think there was too much butter. The softness of the butter affects the topping texture. My butter was not melted, but really soft. Thanks for the basic recipe and thanks to the reviewers for their suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
FANTASTIC RECIPE... if you alter it... which is the reason I only give it one star. Someone should submit this in altered form because you definitely need at least 6 cups of rhubarb and I used less sugar and less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vdhme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
perfectly awesome with rhubarb doubled and an extra tablespoon of flour...don't miss out on this one! The brown sugar coupled with the rhubarb makes it hard to eat just one portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars for MY VERSION. Here are the modifications I made: For the filling, I used about 6 cups of rhubarb and about 1-1/2 cups very ripe fresh strawberries. I used 1/2 c. white sugar and probably could have gone with 1/3 c. I used 4 T. flour. For the crunch: 1 c. brown sugar, 1 c. oats, 1 c. flour, 1/2 c. Earth Balance spread, 1 tsp. cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. salt. I used an 8X8 glass dish and baked at 375 for 40 minutes. Everyone raved about this!! My 12 yo son, who has never had rhubarb before and is NOT a big dessert eater, loved this. He said that if there had been more sugar, he wouldn't have been able to eat more than a bite. No one could believe it was Earth Balance in the crunch and not real butter. Don't be afraid to play around with this recipe. I could easily have added more fruit without changing anything else. Use less sugar than you might think and don't be afraid to substitute ingredients. It will still turn out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
The low rating is for the recipe being wrong in the first place, how this ever got approved is beyond me. If you were to make it as is, you'd have barely any fruit and a whole lot of really crispy crust. As suggested, I increased the amount of rhubarb to 6 cups, added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar and an extra tablespoon of flour to the fruit. To the crust I added 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp salt (just like my apple crisp recipe). Beyond adding the spices and salt, I left the amount of butter the same. I think if you were to cut the butter, it'd be way too dry and apt to burn, rather than caramelize the sugar and sort of melt onto the rhubarb. After reworking the recipe, it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grüne Eier

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
me and my family love this rhubarb crunch it is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My daughter made this for Easter and it was literally inhaled!! Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Really excellent! When I start running low on rhubarb, I add a few apples to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sal pal
Home Town: Orcas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Very good. I've made it with a combination of rhubarb and strawberries also and liked it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States