Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I ended up with way too much topping, but I had a deep, round dish instead of a long, shallow one. But this was scrumptious! It is amazing still warm, with vanilla ice cream, but it is also great chilled. I doubled the rhubarb, used 1 1/4 c. white sugar and added a pint of fresh strawberries. I used frozen rhubarb, but thawing it in the oven for five minutes before using it helped. Good recipe! Made again: 1 Lb each of rhubarb and strawberries, 1 cup sugar, half the topping...and it is still delicious, though a little more tart. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I used the suggestions: twice the fruit, the extra sugar, and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HINES9010

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaButterfly
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I was given a boat load of rhubarb and decided to try this recipe and donated it back to the person giving the rhubarb. The Crunch was so fantastic they said it was the best tasting ever! I made a few changes to the recipe...Instead of using refined white sugar I used Pure Cane sugar. I switched the regular flour for Spelt and instead of brown sugar I used Coconut Palm Sugar. I left all the amounts the same. The results were purely outstanding! I will definitely make this again. I have some rhubarb left in my freezer. It will make for a wonderful last minute dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaButterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
JUST MADE IT AND SERVED IT WITH VANILLA ICE CREAM....YUMMMYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micky Azzam

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Awesome! I added some apples too and it was great. I also doubled the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Love it! The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Followed other reviews and used 6 cups rhubarb plus 4 T flour, but also added 1 cup blackberries and one chopped, peeled apple. Used the recipe's topping measurements, but added 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t salt, 1/2 cup chopped pecans, plus used a mix of whole wheat pastry flour and all purpose flour for topping. I didn't like the blackberries or the apples I added so next time I would just use rhubarb. **The topping was fantastic after I added the salt, cinnamon, and nuts-I didn't think there was too much butter. The softness of the butter affects the topping texture. My butter was not melted, but really soft. Thanks for the basic recipe and thanks to the reviewers for their suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
FANTASTIC RECIPE... if you alter it... which is the reason I only give it one star. Someone should submit this in altered form because you definitely need at least 6 cups of rhubarb and I used less sugar and less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Vdh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
perfectly awesome with rhubarb doubled and an extra tablespoon of flour...don't miss out on this one! The brown sugar coupled with the rhubarb makes it hard to eat just one portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars for MY VERSION. Here are the modifications I made: For the filling, I used about 6 cups of rhubarb and about 1-1/2 cups very ripe fresh strawberries. I used 1/2 c. white sugar and probably could have gone with 1/3 c. I used 4 T. flour. For the crunch: 1 c. brown sugar, 1 c. oats, 1 c. flour, 1/2 c. Earth Balance spread, 1 tsp. cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. salt. I used an 8X8 glass dish and baked at 375 for 40 minutes. Everyone raved about this!! My 12 yo son, who has never had rhubarb before and is NOT a big dessert eater, loved this. He said that if there had been more sugar, he wouldn't have been able to eat more than a bite. No one could believe it was Earth Balance in the crunch and not real butter. Don't be afraid to play around with this recipe. I could easily have added more fruit without changing anything else. Use less sugar than you might think and don't be afraid to substitute ingredients. It will still turn out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States