Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I thought the pie turned out just fine. But I have to say.. like some others who have used this recipe, I had to add a whole bunch of butter to even form a dough. I tripled the amount of butter the recipe suggests. It's still kinda crunchy but I don't think it's dry. This recipe is great. For the bakers who thought the rhubarb was too sour compared to the sweet crust... leave out a little sugar from the curst and for the rhubarb -> place all the chopped rhubarb in a microwavable bowl, pour a little water on the bottom of the bowl, microwave the rhubarb for 2-3 minutes on high in one minute intervals. The steam from the water should make the rhubarb a bit softer and not so sour after baking it in the oven. I also put a little more corn starch on the sugary mixture, it wasn't runny at all when I tasted the pie the following day. I cooked the pie for 45 minutes. Thank you for this easy recipe, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlem, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Very good! I cut the recipe in half, but still used 1/2 cup of butter. Turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Kaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This was fantastic! I like cinnamon so I sprinkled more cinnamon over the rhubarb. Also, I found mine needed to cook for nearly an hour. Pull it out of the oven after you see it bubbling around the edges. I didn't have any problems with the crust and topping being to dry b/c the rhubarb cooked down enough! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Will not make this again. The bottom crust and topping were very dry. I had to doctor the top with a little more brown sugar and butter so as not so dry. Filling was nice with the syrup added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I thought it turned out fairly well! I would increase the butter to 3/4 to 1 cup in the crust/crisp portion instead of the 1/3 cup. I used 1/2 cup, and it was still a little dry, not crumbly. Also, I think the recipe has too MUCH crisp/crust. You could also leave the butter at 1/2 cup and cut the flour and brown sugar back to 2 cups each instead of 2 1/2 cups. Now for the RHUBARB portion, it was a bit sour in combination with the sweet of the crust. Also just a tad runny after I let it cool awhile (1 hr), so maybe increase the corn starch to 5 T (I used 4 T instead of 1/4 cup). And lastly, I increased the baking time to 40 to 45 minutes. :-) Be sure to place something on the rack below the baking pan as this recipe does seem to bubble over like a pie would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Way too doughy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
While the taste was good, the result was too soupy, and the topping too sugary. I've had much better. Needs more cornstarch or tapioca. Try a different recipe rather than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
Very disappointing! Waste of darn good rhubarb and ingredients. Ate one piece and tossed the rest as it was to nasty to serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I read all the reviews first, but was still confused by the amount of butter. 1/3 cup is too little and the rhubarb was still crunchy after 35 minutes of baking. I would double the cooking time and add more butter for the topping. A little more cornstarch for the sauce wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
I read all your warnings before starting this recipe. I added about 1 1/2 cups of butter for the topping/crust- 1/3 is not enough! It tasted good but the center was runny and some of the rhubarb was still crunchy (baked for 30 min.) Next time I will add more cornstarch/flour to the center and bake it for a little longer (or cut the chunks of rhubarb finer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States