Rhubarb Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by frankaff
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I added 5 cups rhubarb 3 eggs 1 oz flour 2 tablespoon milk baked a 375 oven for 1 hr 20 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Made the pie exactly as the recipe. It stayed together fine. It was not runny at all. Baked for 55 minutes. It did not overflow out of the pie dish. I did use a deep dish pie pan. I will say that I personally did not like the pie. My husband and my mother however loved it. My mother has already requested it to be made again. I asked my husband what star to give it, and he said 4 stars. My mom I am sure would have said 5 stars. I like nutmeg, but think it has too much of it for my taste, and was a strange combo rhubarb and nutmeg. I am going to try another rhubarb cream pie without nutmeg. If you don't like nutmeg do not make this. You can taste the nutmeg a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I have been using this recipe for years and have been told many times it is the best!! I now buy my pie crusts and they are smaller than homemade ones so I usually double the recipe and divide into 3 shells. The baked pies freeze just fine. I also use a crumble topping instead of crust so cut back on the sugar in the pie to 1 c. and use 1/2 c. sugar, 3/4 c. flour and 1/4 c. marg. crumbled together for topping. Personal preference is to cut back on the nutmeg as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I think I will stick to regular old fashion rhubarb pie with no eggs and no nutmeg and low sugar for a tart rhubarb taste. This recipe sort of tasted like a cross between a quiche mixed with potpourri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AKdaisy
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is a wonderful, simple recipe. I made mine in a cast iron skillet and had no problem with "overage". Very good by itself and even better topped with vanilla ice cream. This is definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Haven't made this cream pie for many years, and this one was runny. I think the rhubarb might have to be just wiped with a damp cloth before using, rather than washing it. Rhubarb is mostly water, so any water clinging to the stalk would make the filling too runny. I'll try it again when I can find some more rhubarb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This is a wonderful pie meant for a DEEP Glass pie pan. I often do this recipe and cheat I keep frozen pie crust in the freezer. I add three eggs 3 cups rhubarb 1 tsp of flour and no spices pre heat the oven to 400 bake it at 400 for 10 minutes then drop the temp to 375 for 50 minutes the trick to this pie is the same as a Quiche insert a knife into the center if it come out wet and clean it it ready to be cooled. On the other hand if it still is gooey reduce the temp on the pie to 325 and continue baking till done. this way your crust doesn`t over cook.. A short bread crust is always the best with this pie .. but for quick and easy...keep some crust in the oven pie from ingredients to oven in under 5 minutes I use frozen rhubarb all the time just thaw a bit no need to cook just mix with the eggs, flour and sugar. This is a wonderful thank you gift...for any occasion..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I made this pie and followed the recipe to the letter. Was in the over for less than 30 min, and almost burned the pastry. I would suggest reducing the cooking temp to 350 after 20 minutes or till the filling has set. Looks d-lish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
my husband and I both liked this pie the best we have had I make it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, but added a top crust. This was the best rhubarb pie I have ever eaten. My husband rated it the best pie I ever made. It is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States