Rhubarb Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2002
My mother-in-law has been using this same recipe since she was in college! I just made it for the first time yesterday. I made two! It took under five minutes (once the rhubarb was chopped) and was a snap! My husband was thrilled, as this is his all-time favorite dessert. I'm intimidated by pies, so I put off getting the recipe. I will probably make this at least once a week all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
This is a very wonderful pie. I was surprised at the turn out and how quickly disapeared off the plates of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2000
Love Rubarb cream pie, my favorite. dont know about this recipe yet..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
I needed a quick, cheap, and thoughtful idea for Father's Day, and I found it with this recipe!! This pie turned out fabulous and it was very easy to prepare, even for a college student! My dad is a long time fan of strawberry rhubarb pie, I'm sure this one will win him over as well. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
The BEST rhubarb pie recipe ever! I use trans-fat free crust and substitute half of the sugar for splenda to make it a guilt-free recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I changed this recipe just a little and it turned out great. Instead of 4 cups of rhubarb, I used 2 cups rhubarb and 2 cups sliced strawberries. After 50 minutes the pie was nice and brown and looked done so I took it out of the oven and cooled for 1 hour and 20 minutes. When I cut into it, it was still liquid inside. I had no choice but to throw it back into the oven to try and salvage it. I baked it for 30 more minutes and much to my surprise it was still wonderful. Next time I will bake it for at least 60 minutes no matter how brown it looks. Also, this fit perfectly into a deep dish 9" pan, although it came right to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This pie is so good. I made it for my dad because he requested it, not knowing there really was such a thing as rhubarb cream pie. The hardest part of making the pie is the crust. The best part of the pie is the "cream". Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
i love rhubarb! i also love custard. voila! this recipe was just what i was looking for. i prepared this with a shortbread cookie crust and it turned out perfect. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I used frozen rhubarb, so I pre-cooked the fruit, flour and all splenda in micro at High for about 9 minutes, stirring at 3 min. intervals. I added 2 TBLS cream to the eggs and stirred that into the filling. Microwaved on 70% power for a few min. and baked for about 45 min in oven. Lovely! and Yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeapLady
Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is almost identical to my grandmother's recipe, but hers calls for 3 cups rhubarb, only 3 T. flour and two eggs. This might eliminate the spill-over encountered by another reviewer. It shouldn't be runny; be sure to cool completely before cutting. This is, in my opinion, the ONLY rhubarb pie to make, ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States