Rhubarb Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2000
This is a very wonderful pie. I was surprised at the turn out and how quickly disapeared off the plates of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2000
Love Rubarb cream pie, my favorite. dont know about this recipe yet..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
My mother-in-law has been using this same recipe since she was in college! I just made it for the first time yesterday. I made two! It took under five minutes (once the rhubarb was chopped) and was a snap! My husband was thrilled, as this is his all-time favorite dessert. I'm intimidated by pies, so I put off getting the recipe. I will probably make this at least once a week all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This pie is so good. I made it for my dad because he requested it, not knowing there really was such a thing as rhubarb cream pie. The hardest part of making the pie is the crust. The best part of the pie is the "cream". Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
I needed a quick, cheap, and thoughtful idea for Father's Day, and I found it with this recipe!! This pie turned out fabulous and it was very easy to prepare, even for a college student! My dad is a long time fan of strawberry rhubarb pie, I'm sure this one will win him over as well. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I changed this recipe just a little and it turned out great. Instead of 4 cups of rhubarb, I used 2 cups rhubarb and 2 cups sliced strawberries. After 50 minutes the pie was nice and brown and looked done so I took it out of the oven and cooled for 1 hour and 20 minutes. When I cut into it, it was still liquid inside. I had no choice but to throw it back into the oven to try and salvage it. I baked it for 30 more minutes and much to my surprise it was still wonderful. Next time I will bake it for at least 60 minutes no matter how brown it looks. Also, this fit perfectly into a deep dish 9" pan, although it came right to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
This is an old recipe -- I know my grandma used to make it. However, when I make it EVERY TIME it is RUNNY! So soupy you can't really even cut it but have to "scoop it out." It's still delish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This is identical to the rhubarb pie recipe that my grandmother uses. I just made it today with some rhubarb that she gave us from her garden, and my family LOVES it! My father even said that my piecrust is almost better than grandma's! Which is high praise indeed, because my grandmother is almost family legend for her pie! Even my sister, who is VERY picky and never tries anything new liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
What a wonderful pie! In fact, my fiance cannot have enough of it! ;)... The only thing negative about this pie (except the fact that it disappears too fast!) is that the "custard" almost always goes over the plate during cooking, even with a deep-dish one!! I think the trick to overcome this difficulty is to put the rhubarb in a conic shape, so there is more room for the custard. Once cooked, it is all "leveled". I also tried to put 2 eggs instead of 3, it worked fine, but you still have to do the conic shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States