Rhubarb Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I changed the recipe a bit: 2 eggs instead of 3, cinnamon with a dash of chinese five spice because I didn't have nutmeg, added some sliced apple and I made a basic crumb topping with brown sugar, oats, flour and butter. It is cooling now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I just went to a family reunion-lots of farm wives with rhubarb recipes that are "just in their heads" They wont share. Now I've found one that will hold up to theirs. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hickman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I was disappointed with this recipe. The filling never set up, and the taste was only so-so. I won't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Very good mix of sweet and tart, and just mushy enough after cooling for a few hours in the cold storage. I did use about 3 cups rhubarb and a normal pie (not deep dish), and it didn't overflow. Added some ginger for zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is almost identical to my grandmother's recipe, but hers calls for 3 cups rhubarb, only 3 T. flour and two eggs. This might eliminate the spill-over encountered by another reviewer. It shouldn't be runny; be sure to cool completely before cutting. This is, in my opinion, the ONLY rhubarb pie to make, ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I used frozen rhubarb, so I pre-cooked the fruit, flour and all splenda in micro at High for about 9 minutes, stirring at 3 min. intervals. I added 2 TBLS cream to the eggs and stirred that into the filling. Microwaved on 70% power for a few min. and baked for about 45 min in oven. Lovely! and Yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Miller
Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
The BEST rhubarb pie recipe ever! I use trans-fat free crust and substitute half of the sugar for splenda to make it a guilt-free recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
i love rhubarb! i also love custard. voila! this recipe was just what i was looking for. i prepared this with a shortbread cookie crust and it turned out perfect. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
What a wonderful pie! In fact, my fiance cannot have enough of it! ;)... The only thing negative about this pie (except the fact that it disappears too fast!) is that the "custard" almost always goes over the plate during cooking, even with a deep-dish one!! I think the trick to overcome this difficulty is to put the rhubarb in a conic shape, so there is more room for the custard. Once cooked, it is all "leveled". I also tried to put 2 eggs instead of 3, it worked fine, but you still have to do the conic shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This is identical to the rhubarb pie recipe that my grandmother uses. I just made it today with some rhubarb that she gave us from her garden, and my family LOVES it! My father even said that my piecrust is almost better than grandma's! Which is high praise indeed, because my grandmother is almost family legend for her pie! Even my sister, who is VERY picky and never tries anything new liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States