Rhubarb Cream Delight Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This is a memorable crowd-pleaser. I couldn't find rhubarb (wrong season) so I made it with strawberries--it was still wonderful. I also think blueberries would make an excellent fruit layer as well. B/c strawberries are not as tart as rhubarb, I cut the sugar in that layer by half, and also used "blue sweetener) for half of that. To lighten it up even more I used fat-free sour cream and light cream cheese--I couldn't tell a difference and my guests raved. I am not a cheesecake fan b/c it is SO dense. This has the same flavor with a lighter feel. Funny, this is a recipe a family friend made all during my childhood. I made it last night for my birthday and wanted to find nutrition information and the exact recipe popped up . . . no nutrition info though :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I get asked for this recipe every time I make this. Even hubby who isn't crazy about cheesecake or rhubarb enjoys it. No precooking the rhubarb or anything-a glorious dessert and not much work. Also, it doesn't use a ton of cream cheese which helps keep the cost down. I actually double the recipe and use a 9X13 baking dish since I could eat an entire pie myself it's so yummy! I use 7 cups of finely chopped rhubarb when doubling. This last time I used frozen rhubarb-(keep in mind I doubled the recipe) I thawed it and was nervous about how runny it was so I mixed 4 Tbsp flour with the rhubarb and baked the crust with the rhubarb an additional 10-15 minutes. I also baked the cream layer an additional 5-10 minutes and was very satisfied with how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Thank you for the recipe. I love it. I had to use a 9x9 pan as I didn't have a deep dish pie plate. Tonight when I serve it at the bbq. I will cut it into squares. The only thing I would change is I would cut down on the crust. There was a little too much for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
We usually make rhubarb dream bars or rhubarb crisp with our annual crop of rhubarb. But when I tried this recipe, I got several votes to make it again and again! It's the only recipe I have used this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I wish the directions had been just a little more clear. I didn't think to pat the bottom flour/sugar/butter layer up the SIDES of the pie plate. No wonder when I added the second layer it overflowed. (what a mess!) I think I salvaged it...I'll know soon as it's in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Whoaaaa!! Very good-thank you for submitting something different to do with rhubarb. Followed the recipe except used 4 cups of rhubarb. Use a deep dish pie plate. It does seem odd to put the sour cream mixture on the hot pie. I confess to waiting for it to cool a bit before putting it on. Also, this could very easily be made gluten free as the flour is minimal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMPLELIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
this was a bit hit at our Easter potluck. I used a jar of Kroger's strawberry rhubarb pie filling b/c i ran out of time and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Was looking for something to make with my rhubarb that wasn't pie or crisp. This cheesecake is amazing! A perfect combination of tart and sweet. I only did two things differently. First I "cheated" and bought a premade chocolate graham cracker crust; second I used low fat cream cheese. We will definitely make again! It's saved both on the computer and on the iPod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This recipe is by far the best tasting and wonderful to take to a dinner party everyone asked for the recipe this is one that is a keeper and will be used over and over have tried it with wild blueberries too excellent it's not to rich but nice a creamy with a nice look of a professional thanks for sharing Eleanor love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States