Rhubarb Cream Delight Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This is a memorable crowd-pleaser. I couldn't find rhubarb (wrong season) so I made it with strawberries--it was still wonderful. I also think blueberries would make an excellent fruit layer as well. B/c strawberries are not as tart as rhubarb, I cut the sugar in that layer by half, and also used "blue sweetener) for half of that. To lighten it up even more I used fat-free sour cream and light cream cheese--I couldn't tell a difference and my guests raved. I am not a cheesecake fan b/c it is SO dense. This has the same flavor with a lighter feel. Funny, this is a recipe a family friend made all during my childhood. I made it last night for my birthday and wanted to find nutrition information and the exact recipe popped up . . . no nutrition info though :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I get asked for this recipe every time I make this. Even hubby who isn't crazy about cheesecake or rhubarb enjoys it. No precooking the rhubarb or anything-a glorious dessert and not much work. Also, it doesn't use a ton of cream cheese which helps keep the cost down. I actually double the recipe and use a 9X13 baking dish since I could eat an entire pie myself it's so yummy! I use 7 cups of finely chopped rhubarb when doubling. This last time I used frozen rhubarb-(keep in mind I doubled the recipe) I thawed it and was nervous about how runny it was so I mixed 4 Tbsp flour with the rhubarb and baked the crust with the rhubarb an additional 10-15 minutes. I also baked the cream layer an additional 5-10 minutes and was very satisfied with how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Whoaaaa!! Very good-thank you for submitting something different to do with rhubarb. Followed the recipe except used 4 cups of rhubarb. Use a deep dish pie plate. It does seem odd to put the sour cream mixture on the hot pie. I confess to waiting for it to cool a bit before putting it on. Also, this could very easily be made gluten free as the flour is minimal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMPLELIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
We usually make rhubarb dream bars or rhubarb crisp with our annual crop of rhubarb. But when I tried this recipe, I got several votes to make it again and again! It's the only recipe I have used this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I wish the directions had been just a little more clear. I didn't think to pat the bottom flour/sugar/butter layer up the SIDES of the pie plate. No wonder when I added the second layer it overflowed. (what a mess!) I think I salvaged it...I'll know soon as it's in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Was looking for something to make with my rhubarb that wasn't pie or crisp. This cheesecake is amazing! A perfect combination of tart and sweet. I only did two things differently. First I "cheated" and bought a premade chocolate graham cracker crust; second I used low fat cream cheese. We will definitely make again! It's saved both on the computer and on the iPod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I was in a hurry andI happen to have a store bought graham cracker crust that wasn't big enough so took a casserole dish and poured the crust in there along with a package of mixed berries and proceeded with the rest of the recipe and it was still Great! I usually follow these recipes pretty close but when I haven't had rhubarb I have used frozen mixed berries and get rave reviews from everyone. they always ask me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
BEST CHEESECAKE-Y, PIE-Y, RECIPE EVER! The sole BIG change I made was in the 'rhubarb' layer; rhubarb was not to be found and since I had a jar of strawberry-rhubarb jam on hand (reduced calorie, and more on the tart side) I opted to use roughly 2 cups of that instead, while following the rest of the recipe to a "T". As for cooking, let this go until set, but still somewhat jiggly in the middle. Give this a few hours to sit in the fridge, as this allows the cheesecake layer to get to the right density. This would look lovely topped with candied hibiscus flowers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
this was a bit hit at our Easter potluck. I used a jar of Kroger's strawberry rhubarb pie filling b/c i ran out of time and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States