Rhubarb Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
Excellent simple recipe. I've made it several times now. If you use strawberries, lower the amount of sugar. If you use blueberries, you'll still need most of the sugar. Also, you can cut the butter a bit and you can use milk without egg to dampen the dough. Using the egg is pretty much a waste of egg and milk, because you only need about 2 or 3 tbs of the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
nice and tart. I did not have quite enough rhubarb so I added some blueberries. Probably would be good with a blend of rhubarb and strawberries or apples. As always I used whole wheat flour to increase the fibre. And I used vanilla sugar. very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This cobbler was very good. I baked it in a 10 inch round casserole dish. Next time I'll use 1 1/2 cups sugar since it was too tart and more cornstarch because it was too runny. Good ratio of filling to topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
this will be pass on to my children very easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Excellent!!! I think I like it as well as Rhubarb pie and so much easier. I did take someone elses suggestion and added a little cinnamon to the topping. I didn't have any more rhubarb or I would have made more filling as many people suggested. There was quite a bit of topping but it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2004
I had never tried rhubarb before making this recipe, but it is now one of my favorites! This recipe was easy to make and delicious. I used a 8x8 baking dish as others had suggested because the filling does cook down a lot. At first I thought it was a mistake when the recipe only called for 1 tablespoon water, but when the rhubarb cooks a lot of liquid cooks out. I served this warm with vanilla ice cream and it was gone in 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
Doubled the filling, 9x13 pan, nutmeg in filling, cinnamon sprinkled on top. Yum Yum Yum! Even better with ice cream or whipped cream. Good as a leftover too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Made tonight with left over strawberries that were very sweet. I think I would add more sugar if it was just the rhubarb alone. I think the recipe was corrected; don't use the 9 x 13 pan anymore. I used a ceramic oval pan and didn't have to alter the recipe. I might mix the cinnamon into the flour mixture next time as it was a little plain. Other than that it was great for garden rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
Easy to make and good! I used frozen rhubarb that I ran under warm water to thaw a little first. It worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
wowweee this is great! I more than doubled the amount of rhubarb, used enough to completely fill the baking dish, and used the same topping. We ate this in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States