Rhubarb Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Great taste, but a little dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Almost as good as Grandma's! I've been looking for a good rhubarb cobbler recipe, and this was very tasty. The only thing is, like many other people said, there was too much topping in comparison to the filling. Next time, I'll make more filling (maybe even double it) I also added a few tablespoons more sugar to the filling mostly because the rhubarb is just coming out in the store, and I figured it might be tart. Good recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I doubled the recipe and used a 9 x 13 inch pan. Even though the recipe was doubled, I could have used more rhubarb. I used Splenda instead of sugar in the rhubarb itself. It was very good tasting, but next time would like to tweak it a little and use more rhubarb and not so much cornstarch because it did become too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I made this for my husband last night and we both thought it was pretty good. The topping needs a little bit more sugar and it may be good with a bit of rolled oats. For those of you who don't like it so tart, but don't want to add more sugar, you can try a species of rhubarb called 'Strawberry' or 'Cherry.' Most people have what's called 'Victoria.' It's only red from the ground to about half-way up the stalk and is green for the rest. The strawberry version is a dark red from the ground to the leaf. The red version is much sweeter. It is still rhubarb so it's still tart but not nearly as much as the 'Victoria.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I loved this recipe, easy and fast. I have also used the topping for lots of other fruits, with equally great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I thought it was very good..definately easy to make. Mine came out a bit on the tart side but vanilla ice cream helped sweeten it up..yum! My husband and son didn't like it as much as I did, which surprised me as they eat everything! I will probably try it again...next time I'll add strawberries to the rhubarb. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This was fabulous! My kids thought they hated rhubarb because it grows in the garden -- they cleaned their plates. I topped it with ice cream while warm. One thing to note -- the recipe summary says this cooks in a 9x13, but the actual recipe says a 9" square pan. I used the 9" square and the ratios seemed perfect (topping to contents). The topping was very good, too! I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This is a great summer dessert, especially served warm with vanilla ice cream. Even my rhubarb-hating husband liked it! Next time I might put a pinch (or two) more salt in the flour mixture. I recommend using Penzey's Ceylon Cinnamon in this recipe, that particular unique cinnamon really enhances the flavor of the rhubarb filling. It takes a good recipe for rhubarb to thrill me, and this one did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Great recipe! I used an 8" pan, 2 cups of rhubarb and 2 cups of strawberries. very easy to make and was very tasty! I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
Easy and delicious. I'd definitely double the filling next time, there wasn't enough in comparison to the amount of topping. I used 2 c apples and 2 c rhubarb, because I hadn't picked enough rhubarb, and it was really good that way (used a few Tbsp sugar instead of the 3/4 c). We had vanilla ice cream on top, too - I highly recommend adding that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States