Rhubarb Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was fast...easy....and you need no special ingredients. It calls for what you already have in your kitchen cupboard. Basic is sometimes the best! I added about a 1/2 tablespoon extra of water as some folks commented it was dry. This was not dry...it set up to perfection. I did not decrease the baking powder (and I was happy I didn't). I think the "too much baking powder" comment some have made could be coming from the fact that rhubarb ALWAYS makes your teeth feel coated - kinda squeaky after eating it. It's just the nature of the beast. I did add about 3 drops of Mexican vanilla...because I bake nothing without it...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I brought this to a BBQ and everyone loved it! I got compliments and it was gone by the end of the night. We ate it with vanilla ice cream. The only change I made was cutting back on the cornstarch (I used 1 1/2 T) as other reviewers said. This is definitely a recipe I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Wonderful! It was gone in a day! Makes a good breakfast if you use whole wheat flour and cut down on the sugar with the rhubarb. Make sure to use a 9x13 pan not a 9x9 as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lambert, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Just the right amount of sweet and tart. Very easy to make. Can be served right out of the hot oven with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was a little dry my first attempt so next time I substituted instant tapioca (1Tbsp) for the cornstarch and increased sugar by 1tsp. In addition I added 1/4 cup of dark raisin (Thompson's) which gave this a slightly different flavour and made it a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
very good, but a little too much cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was great, even my 2 year old liked it! This was the first time we had rhubarb and we really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
My first attempt at making a cobbler. It was a hit. I added some green apples that need to be used up to the rhubarb. This will definitely be added to the family repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This was a very good recipe, although I found it a little bland. Might be better with ice cream. I did add an extra tablespoon of water and cut the cornstarch to 1 1/2 Tbsp. as per others comments that it was dry. It turned out beautifully with just the right amount of moisture. If serving with ice cream I would double the filling or cut the topping in half to balance the tart and calm influences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanderer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rivne, Rivne Oblast, Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This is absolute ambrosia!! Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States