Rhubarb Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I have been making this pie for about 15 years. I always add about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp almond extract. Also, intead of tapioca I make a base of cornstarch and water thickener with a little rhubarb that is chopped fine. I seem to get a little more flavor this way by cooking it down first and then adding the rest of the rhubarb and canned cherries....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Barrenger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Essex Junction, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Easy. Really yummy. Big hit with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Simple. Set up perfectly while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Slightly disappointed; this tasted more like cherry than rhubarb :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
The perfect blend of sweet and tart. I used frozen rhubarb from our garden and a "lite" cherry pie filling. Pair this with "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust" recipe on AR for a truely outstanding pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was delicious. I hope we get enough rhubarb this year to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NORTHWESTMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Excellent, simple recipe! I found everything to be well proportioned, maybe a little sweet. Rhubarb gives the cherry a more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This pie has amazing flavor! I added about 1/4 tsp of cloves, it enhances the flavors wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
A very tasty pie. I omit the tapioca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This is my all time favorite pie. I like almond extract with cherry so I added 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States